In focus: The real estate market

The low interest rates prevailing since the end of 2008 have meant that it has never been cheaper to get a mortgage loan. This can, however, have unanticipated consequences, since extremely low mortgage rates can spur excessive demand for owner-occupied residential property, resulting in a real estate boom. These kinds of developments carry risks, and it is therefore important that the authorities take precautionary countermeasures.

Picture: Keystone

When real estate prices just keep going up


Low interest rates make it possible for a lot of people to buy a house. Demand rises, so do real estate prices, and so does mortgage borrowing. Is this a healthy situation?
Immobilien blase

The historically low interest rates at present make buying a house very attractive. Why? Low interest rates mean that people can take out loans – including mortgage loans – at very favourable conditions. Owning becomes more attractive than renting. In this kind of low interest rate environment, more households can afford real estate than they can when rates are higher. Furthermore, higher incomes, the desire for more living space, population growth and overly optimistic expectations about real estate value can also boost demand. However, if vigorous demand is not met with an immediate increase in the supply of real estate on offer, property prices rise.

Justified or not?

It is hard to gauge whether climbing real estate prices are justified by fundamental factors like rising income or population growth. An increase in real estate prices that far exceeds what can be justified by fundamentals is commonly referred to as a price bubble.

Why are real estate bubbles dangerous?

Experience in Switzerland and abroad has shown that when price bubbles on the real estate market develop and eventually burst, a protracted crisis usually follows. This is because a real estate bubble that bursts takes a toll on banks, households and the economy overall.

SNB sees imbalances


Real estate prices and mortgage loans have grown significantly faster than Switzerland’s GDP over the past few years. Rather than speaking of a ‘bubble’, the SNB refers to ‘imbalances’ in these markets. Since the SNB has a constitutional mandate to ensure the stability of the financial system, it advocates the implementation of precautionary measures. These are aimed at countering the build-up of imbalances – or at least seeing to it that the banking sector’s resilience is strengthened, so that a potential correction of these imbalances causes as little damage as possible.

Why is the SNB involved?


The SNB is required by law to contribute to the stability of the financial system. When the banking system takes on too much risk, the SNB calls attention to this situation and recommends precautionary measures in good time – through a variety of channels, not least its financial stability report. Aside from communication, the SNB has no instruments of its own in this area – rather, it coordinates its activities with federal authorities. Thus for example, the SNB can propose the activation, adjustment or deactivation of the countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) to the Federal Council.

Imbalances: a risk for individual banks...


Banks play a major role in the real estate market because they grant mortgages. In so doing, they must assess how the value of the property will develop over the next few years and whether the client will be able to make interest and amortisation payments. This risk assessment involves a high degree of uncertainty. In recent years, these risks might have been underestimated, with mortgages being granted to households that could struggle to meet their obligations in the event of an interest rate rise. If rising interest rates coincide with falling real estate prices, the situation could become especially critical; when borrowers are unable to meet their obligations and their house is worth less than the mortgage, the bank incurs a loss.

... and for the banking system and the economy


However, the mortgage and real estate markets are significant not just for individual banks, but indeed for the entire banking system, as well as for the Swiss economy. On the one hand, since many banks are active on the mortgage market, any problems arising there or on the real estate market could potentially affect them. On the other, overall indebtedness in Switzerland – as measured by the mortgage-to-GDP ratio – is very high by historical standards. Furthermore, real estate often accounts for a large share of a homeowner’s assets. So if interest rates were to rise and the real estate market to dip sharply, the consequences would be felt not just by individual banks, but also by the banking system, households and the entire Swiss economy.

Painful experiences


There is every reason to fear excesses. At the beginning of the 1990s, Switzerland experienced a severe crisis in its real estate market, with protracted, serious consequences for the entire economy.
Spar und Leikasse Thun
Picture: Keystone

The 1987 stock market crash prompted central banks around the world to pursue expansionary monetary policies and keep interest rates low. In Switzerland, this contributed to an exceptionally rapid rise in house prices towards the end of the 1980s. However, conditions changed. Faced with the threat of inflation, the SNB had to raise interest rates sharply at the beginning of the 1990s. At the same time as mortgage rates went up, the economy weakened – and the value of real estate tumbled.

Protracted, serious consequences

As a consequence, many home owners and companies found themselves in trouble. Not only were they suddenly burdened with higher mortgage payments, but in some cases, banks demanded a further injection of capital, since the real estate – which serves as the banks’ collateral – was now worth less on the market. The result? Demand for real estate tapered off, and prices fell further. This substantial decline in real estate value also had serious repercussions for the banks. According to the Swiss Federal Banking Commission’s 1997 annual report, the banks had to write off almost 10% – about CHF 40 billion – of their credit volume between 1991 and 1996. The consequences of the real estate crisis were protracted and serious; a decade would pass before the Swiss economy recovered from below-average growth.

What if hiking interest rates is a no-go?


Higher monetary policy rates can contribute to alleviating the situation on the mortgage and real estate markets. Banks, in turn, pass on these higher rates to their customers by charging more interest on loans. The result is less demand for mortgages and more difficulties in financing real estate purchases. Sometimes, however, raising interest rates is not an option from a monetary policy perspective. For instance, when the Swiss franc is substantially overvalued, higher interest rates would cause further appreciation, with adverse effects for price stability and economic growth. Imbalances on the mortgage and real estate markets must therefore be tackled with other measures.

A different measure: the countercyclical capital buffer


A sectoral countercyclical capital buffer is currently activated in Switzerland. Banks are required to provide additional capital backing for a large portion of their mortgage loans. This bolsters their capital buffer and helps to counter excessive growth in lending.
Der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer
Picture: Keystone

The countercyclical capital buffer has been available to Swiss authorities since 2012. It can be activated, adjusted or deactivated by the Federal Council following a proposal by the SNB. The principle behind the currently activated sectoral countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) is simple: when it is activated, banks must provide more capital backing for mortgage loans on residential real estate. This not only expands their capital buffer and strengthens their resilience in the event of crises, but it counteracts excessive lending by making mortgages more expensive and limiting the overall potential for lending.

CCyB currently activated

In response to a proposal by the SNB, the Federal Council activated the CCyB for the first time in February 2013. Accordingly, as of the end of September 2013, banks were obliged to hold additional capital amounting to 1% of their risk-weighted mortgage loans for residential property. In January 2014, again following a proposal by the SNB, the Federal Council increased the sectoral CCyB from 1% to 2%, with effect from the end of June 2014.

A preventive, temporary measure

The CCyB is intended as a precautionary measure, and should as such be activated in good time, i.e. before imbalances become critical and a crisis materialises. Furthermore, it is designed to be temporary – once imbalances have disappeared, the CCyB is deactivated and the banks can release the additional capital buffer.

The Federal Council and banks take further measures


In addition to the CCyB decisions, the Federal Council tightened capital requirements for mortgages with high loan-to-value ratios. And in fact, the banks themselves have, on several occasions, revised and tightened the so-called self-regulation. For example, borrowers must now make a down payment of at least 10% of the lending value out of their own funds, without recourse to their pension assets. Furthermore, the mortgage must be amortised down to two-thirds of the lending value of the property within fifteen years. These measures are also designed to reduce risks arising from developments on mortgage and real estate markets.

Le marché immobilier

Depuis fin 2008, les taux d’intérêt sont particulièrement faibles, de sorte que les prêts hypothécaires n’ont jamais été aussi bas. Cette situation peut stimuler la demande de logements en propriété, ce qui contribue à l’essor rapide du marché immobilier, mais implique également des risques. Aussi est-il important que les autorités prennent des mesures correctrices à titre préventif.

Illustration: Keystone.

Lorsque les prix immobiliers augmentent


Les taux d’intérêt bas incitent de nombreuses personnes à s’acheter un logement. La demande augmente, les prix immobiliers et l’endettement hypothécaire aussi. Est-ce une situation saine?
Immobilien blase

Les taux d’intérêt se situant à un niveau historiquement bas, l’achat d’une maison est actuellement une idée plutôt séduisante. Pour quelles raisons? Dans un tel contexte, les particuliers peuvent obtenir des prêts, notamment hypothécaires, à des taux d’intérêt très faibles. Il est alors plus intéressant d’être propriétaire que locataire. Les ménages sont donc plus nombreux qu’en temps ordinaire à pouvoir se permettre d’acheter leur propre logement. La hausse des revenus, le souhait d’une surface habitable plus grande, la croissance de la population ou un trop grand optimisme quant à l’évolution de la valeur de l’immobilier stimulent aussi la demande sur ce marché. Cependant, le fort accroissement de la demande n’est pas immédiatement suivi d’une hausse de l’offre, et les prix immobiliers augmentent en conséquence.

Des prix justifiés?

Il n’est pas facile de juger si la hausse des prix de l’immobilier se justifie par les fondamentaux, par exemple par la hausse des revenus ou la croissance de la population. On parle habituellement de bulle lorsque les prix immobiliers dépassent largement le niveau justifié par les fondamentaux.

En quoi les bulles sont-elles dangereuses?

Les expériences faites en Suisse et à l’étranger le montrent: lorsqu’une bulle se forme sur le marché immobilier et qu’elle finit par éclater, il s’ensuit généralement une crise de longue durée qui a des répercussions sur les banques, les ménages et l’économie dans son ensemble.

La Banque nationale observe les déséquilibres


En Suisse, les prix immobiliers et les prêts hypothécaires connaissent depuis quelques années une forte croissance, qui est bien supérieure à celle du produit intérieur brut (PIB). La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) ne parle pas de bulle, mais évoque plutôt des déséquilibres sur ces marchés. Etant donné que la loi lui confère la tâche de contribuer à la stabilité du système financier, la BNS préconise l’adoption de mesures préventives. Ces mesures doivent aider à contrer l’accroissement des déséquilibres, ou du moins à permettre de renforcer la capacité de résistance du secteur bancaire, de sorte qu’une éventuelle correction de ces déséquilibres cause le moins de dommages possible.

Pourquoi la Banque nationale agit-elle?


La loi confère à la Banque nationale la tâche de contribuer à la stabilité du système financier. Si le système bancaire s’expose à de trop grands risques, la BNS le signale et formule des recommandations suffisamment tôt. Elle utilise à cet effet divers canaux de communication, dont le Rapport sur la stabilité financière. La BNS pouvant prendre de son propre chef uniquement des mesures de communication, elle ne recourt d’elle-même à aucun instrument de stabilité financière, mais agit d’entente avec les autorités fédérales. Concernant par exemple le volant anticyclique de fonds propres, la BNS peut en proposer l’activation, l’ajustement ou la désactivation au Conseil fédéral.

Déséquilibres: un risque tant pour les établissements bancaires...


En accordant des prêts hypothécaires, les banques jouent un rôle majeur sur le marché immobilier. Elles doivent estimer l’évolution de la valeur des objets immobiliers et la capacité des emprunteurs à rembourser leurs intérêts et à amortir leur emprunt. L’estimation de ces risques s’accompagne d’incertitudes. Ces dernières années, il se peut que les risques aient été sous-estimés et que des hypothèques aient été octroyées à des ménages qui pourraient avoir des difficultés financières en cas de hausse des taux d’intérêt. Les risques sont d’autant plus grands lorsqu’une telle hausse s’accompagne d’une chute des prix immobiliers. Si le débiteur devient insolvable et que sa maison vaut moins que l’hypothèque qui la grève, la banque subit des pertes.

... que pour le système bancaire et l’économie


Les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier sont également importants pour le système bancaire et pour l’économie suisse. D’une part, nombre de banques interviennent sur le marché hypothécaire, ce qui pourrait les rendre vulnérables aux problèmes affectant ce marché et celui de l’immobilier. D’autre part, l’endettement en Suisse – mesuré par le rapport entre le volume d’hypothèques et le PIB – est très élevé en comparaison historique. En outre, le patrimoine immobilier constitue une grande partie de la fortune de nombreux propriétaires. Par conséquent, si les taux d’intérêt augmentaient et que les prix de l’immobilier s’effondraient, les établissements bancaires pris séparément, mais aussi tout le système bancaire, les ménages et l’ensemble de l’économie suisse en seraient affectés.

Expériences douloureuses


La crainte des excès s’explique par un antécédent marquant: la grave crise immobilière que la Suisse traversa au début des années 1990 et qui eut de longues et douloureuses répercussions sur l’économie tout entière.
Spar und Leikasse Thun
Illustration: Keystone.

Le krach boursier de 1987 avait conduit les banques centrales du monde entier à mener une politique monétaire expansionniste et à maintenir les taux d’intérêt à un niveau bas. En Suisse, cette situation conduisit à une hausse exceptionnellement élevée des prix de l’immobilier vers la fin des années 1980. Mais la donne changea. Face à la menace d’inflation, la Banque nationale suisse dut relever fortement les taux d’intérêt au début des années 1990. Les taux hypothécaires augmentèrent, tandis que la conjoncture s’affaiblissait. En un rien de temps, les biens immobiliers perdirent de leur valeur.

Des conséquences longues et douloureuses

Nombre de propriétaires et d’entreprises se retrouvèrent en difficulté. Non seulement il leur fallut soudainement payer des intérêts hypothécaires plus élevés, mais ils durent aussi rembourser une partie du prêt à la banque car la valeur de l’objet immobilier – une sûreté pour la banque – s’était dépréciée sur le marché. Il en résulta une diminution de la demande de biens immobiliers et une nouvelle chute des prix. Les banques souffrirent elles aussi de la forte perte de valeur dans l’immobilier. Entre 1991 et 1996, elles durent amortir près de 10% de leur volume de crédit, soit quelque 40 milliards de francs, selon le bilan publié dans le rapport de gestion de 1997 de la Commission fédérale des banques. Les conséquences de la crise immobilière furent longues et douloureuses. Pendant une décennie, l’économie suisse enregistra une croissance inférieure à la moyenne.

Hausse des taux impossible: que faire?


Si la Banque nationale relevait les taux d’intérêt, cela pourrait contribuer à une détente de la situation sur les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier. Dans un tel cas, les banques augmentent en effet à leur tour les taux qu’elles appliquent aux emprunts. Ainsi, la demande de prêts hypothécaires diminue, et le financement de la propriété du logement devient moins facile. Mais pour des raisons tenant à la politique monétaire, une hausse des taux n’est pas toujours possible. Lorsque le franc est nettement surévalué, des taux plus élevés le feraient encore s’apprécier, ce qui aurait un impact négatif sur la stabilité des prix et l’économie. Il faut donc recourir à d’autres moyens pour lutter contre les déséquilibres sur les marchés hypothécaire et immobilier.

Un autre moyen: le volant anticyclique de fonds propres


Actuellement, un volant anticyclique sectoriel de fonds propres est activé. Les banques doivent détenir plus de fonds propres pour la plupart des prêts hypothécaires octroyés. Ceci permet de renforcer leur capital et de freiner une croissance excessive des crédits.
Der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer
Illustration: Keystone.

Depuis 2012, la Suisse dispose du volant anticyclique de fonds propres. Ce mécanisme peut être activé, adapté ou désactivé par le Conseil fédéral sur proposition de la Banque nationale. Son principe est simple: en cas d’activation, les banques doivent détenir davantage de fonds propres pour couvrir les crédits hypothécaires accordés en vue du financement d’objets d’habitation. Leur capital est ainsi renforcé, et les banques sont mieux parées en cas de crise. Ce volant permet aussi de contrecarrer une croissance excessive des crédits, puisqu’il renchérit et limite l’octroi de prêts hypothécaires.

Volant anticyclique activé

Sur proposition de la Banque nationale, le Conseil fédéral a activé pour la première fois en février 2013 le volant anticyclique sectoriel de fonds propres. Fin septembre 2013, les banques devaient ainsi détenir des fonds propres supplémentaires correspondant à 1% des prêts hypothécaires, pondérés en fonction des risques, qu’elles accordent en vue du financement d’objets d’habitation. En janvier 2014, le Conseil fédéral a relevé ce volant sur proposition de la Banque nationale et l’a porté à 2%: depuis fin juin 2014, les banques doivent se conformer à cette exigence plus stricte de fonds propres.

Caractère préventif et temporaire

Le volant anticyclique de fonds propres est un instrument de nature préventive. Aussi doit-il être utilisé bien avant que les déséquilibres atteignent un niveau critique ou qu’une crise éclate. De plus, son utilisation est limitée dans le temps: une fois les déséquilibres disparus, il peut être désactivé, et les réserves de capitaux constituées à titre supplémentaire peuvent être libérées.

Le Conseil fédéral et les banques prennent d’autres mesures


En plus du volant anticyclique de fonds propres, le Conseil fédéral a durci les exigences de fonds propres pour les prêts hypothécaires à quotité de financement élevée. Quant aux banques, elles ont révisé et renforcé à plusieurs reprises les directives d’autoréglementation sur l’octroi de prêts hypothécaires. Ainsi, les emprunteurs doivent actuellement financer au moins 10% de la valeur de gage du bien immobilier par leurs propres fonds, le capital de la caisse de pensions n’étant pas compris dans ce pourcentage. En outre, la dette hypothécaire doit être amortie à hauteur de deux tiers de la valeur de gage dans un délai de 15 ans. Ces mesures visent elles aussi à réduire les risques liés aux développements des marchés hypothécaire et immobilier.