The value of price stability

Stable prices are crucially important for an economy. Substantial price fluctuations over longer periods of time lead to considerable uncertainty among companies and households, as well as a redistribution of wealth and income. This affects the level of prosperity for everyone. The SNB explains what it understands by price stability, and why it’s at the top of its list of priorities.

Picture: Keystone

How the SNB influences prices


  • Aufmacher 01

    Monetary policy affects prices and the economy through various channels. What follows is a simplified illustration of a complex transmission mechanism.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Let us assume that the inflation forecast predicts excessively high inflation.

  • Aufmacher 03

    The SNB raises the SNB policy rate, thereby pushing up interest on short-term loans.

  • Aufmacher 04

    With time, this in turn raises long-term rates, e.g. for mortgage and corporate loans. The Swiss franc becomes more attractive than other currencies, and appreciates. In other words, the same unit of foreign currency can be purchased for fewer Swiss francs.

  • Aufmacher 05

    Taking out a loan becomes less attractive for households and companies, which in turn reduces demand. Accordingly, companies adjust their production to the lower demand, and economic activity is dampened.

  • Aufmacher 06

    Because demand is lower, the supply of goods is comparatively greater. If demand is lower than supply, it becomes virtually impossible to raise prices. Price stability is assured.

What exactly is meant by price stability?


Prices are regarded as stable when the change in prices for everyday items is barely perceptible from one day to the next. The SNB deems prices in Switzerland to be stable when the overall price level increases by less than 2% per year, and there is no incidence of negative inflation. Inflation or deflation is said to occur only when the general level of prices rises or falls substantially over a sustained period of time. The last 100 years have seen several inflationary phases, but only one conspicuously deflationary phase, namely during the 1930s.

The CPI goods basket in 2019


Der LIK-Warenkorb 2019
Source: SFSO

The SNB monitors changes in the price level using the consumer price index (CPI). The CPI measures changes in the prices of a ‘basket’ of goods and services which the average Swiss household consumes.

Is 100 francs a lot of money?


In the past, 100 francs could buy you a lot more than it can today. And yet now we are better off. This is because our wages have outpaced prices – in other words, the purchasing power of our income has increased.

Our perception of the value of 100 francs depends not just on how much we earn or possess, but also on how much we can purchase. This changes over time: In 1915, for example, 100 francs would buy over 500 kilogrammes of potatoes. Today, the same amount purchases just 40 kilogrammes, because the price of potatoes has increased pretty substantially. Many other goods and services have also become more expensive over the years. Identical items of shopping worth 100 francs today would have cost just 10 francs 100 years ago.

Wage rises outpace price rises

This state of affairs is due to the fact that prices in many economies – including Switzerland – have risen considerably over the last 100 years with a resulting decline in the value of money. However, this does not mean that we can afford less than we could 100 years ago, since, as the prices for things like food, clothing, accommodation and transport have risen, so too have wages.

Higher purchasing power

In fact, generally speaking, wage growth has significantly outpaced price rises – which is why today we are able to afford far more and better products than consumers 100 years ago. This period has consequently seen substantial changes to both our needs and what is on offer. We are thus generally far better off today than we were in the past.

Working time required to buy these products

Source: Avenir Suisse

When price stability begins to falter


Excessive inflation and deflation are both extremely harmful. While an economy can absorb short-term deviations from price stability, sizeable and sustained fluctuations – whether up or down – are highly damaging. A substantial and unexpected rise in inflation leads to considerable uncertainty among companies and households, as well as a redistribution of wealth and income. As the value of money declines, consumers can afford less (i.e. their purchasing power is eroded) since wages and pensions are not always – or fully – adjusted for inflation, and then only with a time lag. Sustained deflation also has harmful consequences, since it has deleterious effects on economic performance.

The SNB ensures stable prices

Die Nationalbank sorgt für stabile Preise

The SNB’s mandate


The SNB’s mandate is to ensure price stability in Switzerland. In so doing, it must also take due account of economic developments.
Das Mandat der Nationalbank

The Constitution requires the SNB to pursue a monetary policy that serves the interests of the country as a whole. The National Bank Act describes this requirement in detail. It obliges the SNB to ensure price stability (i.e. to prevent both inflation and deflation), and in so doing to take due account of the economy’s development.

Clear hierarchy of objectives

The law stipulates a clear hierarchy of objectives: the highest priority is accorded to ensuring price stability, while taking due account of economic developments occupies second place. These two objectives, however, go hand in glove. Of course the Swiss economy is also materially affected by global economic events, which the SNB cannot influence.

Limited influence

However, exactly controlling the price level and economic developments is beyond the power of the SNB and its monetary policy. Furthermore, the impact of monetary policy measures is initially mainly felt in the business cycle; only later does it feed through to prices. Monetary policy cannot, by itself, have a sustained influence on economic development and ensure a higher rate of growth. In the long term, monetary policy has no influence on economic development at all. But the maintenance of price stability does ensure favourable economic conditions. The power of monetary policy to influence economic activity is thus limited, and should not be overestimated.

Picture: Keystone

How the SNB fulfils its mandate


If its inflation forecast indicates that prices will rise by more than 2% per year, the SNB increases the interest rate and restricts the supply of money and credit to the economy (and vice versa). This is how the SNB carries out its mandate.

Inflationsprognose

Transmission mechanism


Der Transmissionsmechanismus

The SNB’s monetary policy affects the economy in various ways. The sequence of events that changes in monetary policy trigger is known as the transmission mechanism. Monetary policy influences prices and economic activity via interest and exchange rates.

Monetary policy strategy


The monetary policy strategy outlines how, and with which instruments, the SNB achieves its objectives. It consists of three elements. First, on introducing this strategy, the SNB defined its mandate to ensure price stability in specific terms, namely that the general price level should not increase by more than 2% per year. Second, each quarter the SNB prepares an inflation forecast for the next three years. For this, it uses the SNB policy rate, which remains unchanged over the entire period. Based on this forecast, the SNB decides whether inflation is too high or low, or whether it falls within the realm of price stability. Third, based on this assessment, the SNB makes its interest rate decision, namely whether to raise or lower the SNB policy rate, or leave it unchanged.

The monetary policy assessment


Each quarter, the SNB conducts a monetary policy assessment which culminates in an interest rate decision, which it communicates to the public. Depending on circumstances, it may also take monetary policy measures at any time between these quarterly assessments.

The SNB news conference of December 2015

The SNB conducts an in-depth monetary policy assessment in March, June, September and December. These assessments comprise an analysis of the economic situation in Switzerland and abroad, and the preparation of forecasts for future developments. Based on these assessments, the Governing Board makes its monetary policy decision. Should circumstances so require, the SNB may also take monetary policy measures at any time between these quarterly assessments – for example the introduction of the minimum exchange rate against the euro on 6 September 2011, and its discontinuation on 15 January 2015.

Informing the public

The SNB communicates monetary policy decisions through press releases. Furthermore, following the monetary policy assessments of June and December, it holds news conferences for journalists. News conferences are also held on an ad hoc basis as necessary.

Mainly (but not only) interest rate decisions

Monetary policy decisions usually involve interest rate decisions, but not always – where necessary, the SNB also takes other monetary policy measures, e.g. the minimum exchange rate. While managing the interest rate level is generally enough to ensure price stability, in a small open economy like Switzerland’s, another major and fast-acting driver of prices is the exchange rate. Interest and exchange rates together therefore determine the monetary conditions of the economy. Through its monetary policy decisions, the SNB makes certain that these two elements are kept in check and that price stability is ensured.

Exceptional times for monetary policy


In monetary policy terms, we have been living through exceptional times for some years now. The SNB has been compelled to resort to unconventional monetary policy measures, for example the introduction of the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro. Following the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate on 15 January 2015, interest rate policy is again at the fore, but a return to normal is still a long way off. Concurrently with the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate, the SNB lowered the interest rate further into negative territory. This has made investments in Swiss francs less attractive, thereby helping to weaken the currency over time. Furthermore, the SNB remains active on the foreign exchange market and will intervene as necessary.

L’importance de la stabilité des prix

Pour un pays, la stabilité des prix revêt une importance primordiale. Une trop forte hausse ou baisse des prix pendant une période prolongée suscite de grandes incertitudes chez les entreprises et les ménages, et entraîne une redistribution des revenus et des richesses. La prospérité de tout un chacun en est donc affectée. La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) explique ici la notion de stabilité des prix et le caractère prioritaire de cet objectif.

Illustration: Keystone.

Comment la Banque nationale influe-t-elle sur les prix?


  • Aufmacher 01

    La politique monétaire utilise différents canaux pour influer sur les prix et la conjoncture – représentation simplifiée de ce mécanisme complexe.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Supposons que la prévision d’inflation table sur un renchérissement élevé.

  • Aufmacher 03

    La BNS relève son taux directeur. Les taux pour les emprunts à court terme augmentent.

  • Aufmacher 04

    Les taux à long terme se mettent eux aussi à augmenter, par exemple pour les prêts hypothécaires et les prêts aux entreprises. Le franc devient plus attrayant que les autres monnaies et s’apprécie. Il faut moins de francs pour la même unité de monnaie étrangère.

  • Aufmacher 05

    Pour les entreprises et les ménages, le recours au crédit devient moins intéressant. Par conséquent, la demande faiblit, et les entreprises ralentissent la production, ce qui freine la conjoncture.

  • Aufmacher 06

    En raison du recul de la demande de biens et de services, l’offre est excédentaire. Si l’offre dépasse la demande, il n’est guère possible d’augmenter les prix. La stabilité des prix est donc garantie.

Qu’entend-on par stabilité des prix?


Les prix sont stables lorsque leurs variations pour les achats quotidiens sont si faibles qu’elles sont à peine perceptibles d’un jour à l’autre. La Banque nationale considère que les prix sont stables dès lors que le niveau général des prix en Suisse enregistre une hausse annuelle inférieure à 2%. Une baisse durable du niveau des prix est donc aussi contraire à cette définition. Lorsque le niveau général des prix augmente fortement pendant une période prolongée, on parle d’inflation, et lorsqu’il diminue, de déflation. Des phases d’inflation se sont produites à plusieurs reprises ces 100 dernières années. Pendant cette même période, on n’a en revanche observé qu’une seule fois, dans les années 1930, une phase prolongée de renchérissement nettement négatif, c’est-à-dire de déflation.

Panier-type 2019


Panier-type 2019
Source: OFS.

Pour suivre l’évolution du niveau des prix, la BNS s’appuie sur l’indice suisse des prix à la consommation (IPC). Reposant sur un panier de biens et de services consommés par un ménage moyen (panier-type), cet indice montre comment les prix évoluent.

100 francs, est-ce beaucoup d’argent?


Autrefois, on pouvait acheter davantage avec 100 francs. Mais cela ne signifie pas que nous vivons moins bien aujourd’hui. En effet, la hausse de nos salaires a été supérieure à celle des prix. En d’autres termes, notre pouvoir d’achat a progressé.

Cent francs représentent-ils beaucoup ou peu d’argent? La réponse à cette question dépend non seulement de ce que l’on gagne ou possède, mais aussi de ce que l’on peut s’acheter avec cette somme. Et cela évolue avec le temps: si en 1915, par exemple, on pouvait obtenir plus de 500 kilos de pommes de terre avec 100 francs, aujourd’hui, on peut en acheter à peine 40 kilos. En effet, le prix de cette denrée – tout comme celui d’un grand nombre d’autres biens et services – a fortement augmenté. Un achat qui coûte aujourd’hui 100 francs n’aurait coûté qu’environ 10 francs il y a un siècle.

Hausse des salaires supérieure à celle des prix

Dans de nombreux pays – dont la Suisse –, les prix ont sensiblement augmenté au cours des 100 dernières années. Ce renchérissement se traduit par une perte de valeur de l’argent. Cela ne signifie toutefois pas que nous pouvons nous offrir moins de choses qu’il y a un siècle. Car s’il est devenu plus cher de se nourrir, de s’habiller, de se loger ou de se déplacer, les salaires, eux aussi, ont progressé.

Accroissement du pouvoir d’achat

La plupart des salaires ont même augmenté bien plus fortement que les prix, de sorte que nous pouvons nous offrir aujourd’hui plus de choses et des produits de meilleure qualité que les gens qui vivaient il y a un siècle. Par conséquent, nos besoins ont largement évolué depuis lors, et l’offre également. Ainsi, nous vivons beaucoup mieux de nos jours.

Le temps de travail nécessaire pour acheter...

Source: Avenir Suisse.

Quand la stabilité des prix vacille


Une forte inflation est tout aussi préjudiciable que la déflation. Si l’économie est certes en mesure de supporter des écarts temporaires par rapport à la stabilité des prix, les écarts durables et importants sont quant à eux extrêmement néfastes, et ce que le niveau des prix soit supérieur ou inférieur à la stabilité des prix. Une inflation élevée et inattendue suscite de grandes incertitudes chez les entreprises et les ménages, et entraîne une redistribution des revenus et des richesses. Comme la valeur de l’argent diminue, le pouvoir d’achat recule lui aussi. En effet, les salaires et les rentes ne s’adaptent pas toujours au renchérissement, ou alors en partie seulement et avec un certain décalage dans le temps. Une phase prolongée de déflation a aussi des conséquences néfastes sur l’évolution économique.

La BNS veille à la stabilité des prix

La BNS veille à la stabilité des prix

Le mandat de la BNS est défini dans la Constitution fédérale suisse.


La Banque nationale a pour tâche de garantir la stabilité des prix en Suisse. Ce faisant, elle doit tenir compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture.
Das Mandat der Nationalbank

Conformément à la Constitution fédérale, la Banque nationale mène une politique monétaire servant les intérêts généraux du pays. La loi sur la Banque nationale concrétise ce mandat: elle confie à la BNS la mission d’assurer la stabilité des prix, c’est-à-dire de prévenir tant l’inflation que la déflation. Ce faisant, elle doit tenir compte de l’évolution de la conjoncture.

Priorité claire

La loi hiérarchise clairement les objectifs: la stabilité des prix a la priorité absolue, tandis que la prise en compte de l’évolution conjoncturelle vient en seconde position. L’évolution des prix et l’évolution de la conjoncture sont toutefois étroitement liées. Bien entendu, l’actualité économique à l’étranger influence aussi largement la conjoncture helvétique, un aspect sur lequel la BNS n’a aucune emprise.

Influence limitée

La politique monétaire de la Banque nationale ne permet pas de gérer avec une précision absolue le niveau des prix et l’évolution de l’économie. De plus, les mesures de politique monétaire déploient d’abord leurs effets sur la conjoncture et ne se répercutent qu’avec un certain décalage sur les prix. Par sa politique monétaire, la Banque nationale ne peut par contre pas assurer durablement une croissance plus forte; à long terme, elle n’a aucune influence sur le développment de l’économie. Elle ne peut donc exercer qu’une influence limitée sur la conjoncture, et cette influence ne doit pas être surestimée. Mais en garantissant la stabilité des prix, elle veille à ce que l’environnement global soit approprié.

Illustration: Keystone.

Comment la BNS accomplit-elle son mandat?


S’il ressort de la prévision d’inflation que les prix pourraient augmenter à l’avenir de plus de 2% par an, la BNS relève les taux d’intérêt et réduit l’approvisionnement de l’économie en monnaie et en crédits – et inversement. C’est ainsi qu’elle remplit son mandat.

Inflationsprognose

Le mécanisme de transmission


Le mécanisme de transmission

La politique monétaire de la Banque nationale a des effets multiples sur l’économie. Les «mécanismes de transmission» décrivent les canaux par lesquels un changement de politique monétaire influe d’abord sur les taux d’intérêt ou le cours de change, puis sur les prix et la conjoncture.

La stratégie de politique monétaire


La stratégie de politique monétaire décrit comment la Banque nationale s’emploie à remplir son mandat et les instruments qu’elle utilise à cette fin. Cette stratégie comprend trois éléments: premièrement, la BNS a défini lors de l’introduction de cette stratégie ce qu’elle entend par stabilité des prix, à savoir une hausse annuelle du niveau général des prix en Suisse inférieure à 2%. Deuxièmement, elle établit chaque trimestre une prévision d’inflation pour les trois années à venir en s’appuyant sur un taux directeur constant durant ce laps de temps. Cette prévision lui permet de déterminer si l’inflation sera trop élevée ou trop faible ou bien si elle s’inscrira dans la zone assimilée à la stabilité des prix. Troisièmement, la BNS prend sa décision de politique monétaire sur la base de sa prévision d’inflation. Elle peut ainsi soit relever son taux directeur, soit l’abaisser ou encore le maintenir inchangé.

Examen de la situation économique et monétaire


La BNS procède chaque trimestre à un examen de la situation économique et monétaire, et prend sur cette base une décision de politique monétaire. Elle en informe le public. Si nécessaire, elle adopte des mesures de politique monétaire à un rythme plus fréquent.

Conférence de presse de décembre 2015

La Banque nationale procède chaque trimestre – au milieu du mois de mars, de juin, de septembre et de décembre – à un examen approfondi de la situation économique et monétaire. A cette occasion, elle étudie la situation économique en Suisse et à l’étranger, et établit des prévisions sur l’évolution future. Sur la base de ces analyses, la Direction générale prend sa décision de politique monétaire. Si les circonstances l’exigent, elle peut aussi adopter des mesures de politique monétaire à d’autres moments, comme cela a été le cas lors de l’introduction du cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro le 6 septembre 2011 ou lors de la suppression de celui-ci le 15 janvier 2015.

Information du public

La Banque nationale publie un communiqué de presse pour informer le public de sa décision de politique monétaire. En juin et en décembre, elle donne une conférence à l’intention des journalistes. Elle organise au besoin des conférences de presse supplémentaires.

Taux d’intérêt et cours de change

Les décisions de politique monétaire portent en règle générale sur le taux d’intérêt. Mais, en cas de besoin, la Banque nationale peut aussi prendre des décisions d’une autre nature, comme cela a été le cas avec le cours plancher. La BNS assure habituellement la stabilité des prix en modifiant le niveau du taux d’intérêt. Mais dans une petite économie ouverte telle que la Suisse, le cours de change influe lui aussi, rapidement et de manière déterminante, sur l’évolution des prix. Ce sont les taux d’intérêt et le cours de change qui permettent, ensemble, de définir les conditions monétaires pour l’économie. La Banque nationale veille à l’adéquation de ces conditions et à la garantie de la stabilité des prix par ses décisions de politique monétaire.

Politique monétaire non conventionnelle


Depuis quelques années, nous sommes confrontés à une situation exceptionnelle en termes de politique monétaire. La Banque nationale a dû prendre des mesures non conventionnelles, comme l’introduction du cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Après la suppression du cours plancher le 15 janvier 2015, la politique de taux d’intérêt revient certes au premier plan pour la Banque nationale, mais on ne saurait encore parler d’un retour à la normale. En effet, la suppression du cours plancher s’est accompagnée d’une nouvelle baisse des taux d’intérêt dans la zone négative. Les placements en francs ont ainsi perdu de leur attrait, ce qui devrait continuer à affaiblir le franc sur la durée. En cas de besoin, la Banque nationale continue à intervenir sur le marché des changes.