All about our money

It may be just a piece of metal, a scrap of paper or a number on a screen, but money is also a lot more than this, as so much in our economy and everyday lives revolves around it. Here, the SNB explains why money matters to all of us.

A time-lapse history of money


  • Aufmacher 01

    Once upon a time

    It all begins with bartering: if you have too much of one thing, you exchange it for something else that you need.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Thousands of years ago

    But barter has one big disadvantage: the needs of the parties to the exchange have to match precisely. If this isn’t the case, then trading is difficult or doesn’t take place.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Thousands of years ago

    To solve this problem, humans begin to trade using special mediums of exchange. These often take the form of widely accepted and desirable goods, such as shells.

  • Aufmacher 04

    About 3,000 years ago

    A gradual harmonisation of these special mediums of exchange takes place; the earliest coins have their origins in different parts of the world, including ancient Greece and China.

  • Aufmacher 05

    About 1,000 years ago

    Paper money, which is more suitable for larger transactions than heavy coins, is first developed in China.

  • Aufmacher 06

    17th century

    In Europe, the first banknotes are issued by the central banks of Sweden and England.

  • Aufmacher 07

    1850

    The Swiss franc is introduced as the national currency, supplanting the various currencies in circulation.

  • Aufmacher 08

    Today

    While the use of credit cards as well as online and mobile banking is increasingly widespread, cash remains an important means of payment.

What exactly is money?


Not only is money critically important for an economy, but it also plays a central role in each of our daily lives. Accommodation, food, telephony, riding the train – all these activities that we take for granted couldn’t happen without money. But while we all know that money is a means of payment, it has other functions too. Money can be saved, and thereby used as a store of value. Money also serves as a measure of value and unit of account. For money to perform these functions, two criteria must essentially be met: it must be generally accepted, and people must trust that it will retain its value.

Grüezi, I’d like to place a cow on deposit

How the SNB puts cash into circulation


Supplying money is a cyclical process. It starts with the cash needs of the population and the economy. The SNB handles these needs via its network of cash distribution services, banks and other clients. Thus every banknote withdrawn at a bank counter or ATM was at some stage put into circulation by the SNB. The coins, too. The SNB puts both freshly printed and used banknotes and coins into circulation. Cash returned to the SNB is counted, authenticated, and proofed for recirculation. Genuine notes and coins in good condition are put back into circulation.

The current banknote series


In April 2016, the SNB released the new 50-franc note. Further denominations will follow in subsequent years. The eighth banknote series will also be valid, until further notice.

There are currently two banknote series in circulation – the eighth and ninth. The first banknote of the new, ninth series – the 50-franc note – entered into circulation in April 2016 and is now officially legal tender. Further denominations are to follow until 2019. The new banknote series is designed by Manuela Pfrunder.

Still valid: the eighth banknote series

Designed by Jörg Zintzmeyer, the eighth banknote series entered circulation between 1995 and 1998, and is still legal tender today. Prior to the current banknote series, the sixth series was in circulation. It was recalled on 1 May 2000, as of which date these banknotes have no longer qualified as legal tender. However, until 30 April 2020, they can still be exchanged at full nominal value at the SNB.

Security first

Since the 1950s, Switzerland has issued a new banknote series approximately every twenty years – consistently upholding high standards of security, functionality and design. Security has top priority. The banknotes contain security features that enable the public to distinguish authentic banknotes from counterfeits. Nevertheless, rapid advances in reproduction technology mean that, in collaboration with its partners in industry, the SNB must continuously seek to develop new security features. These security features are clearly visible on all notes and can easily be checked.

What is half a 100-franc note worth?


Despite being extremely robust, Swiss banknotes inevitably get damaged. However, in many cases the SNB will redeem such notes – even if they are burned, torn in half or chewed.

Only banknotes that are returned to the SNB intact and in reasonably good condition can be automatically sorted and authenticated. The sorting machines used by the SNB for processing banknotes have an integrated shredder, which – in one and the same process – destroys banknotes that have been authenticated but are no longer usable. The shredded notes are compacted and taken to a waste incineration plant.

Clarification in the case of damaged banknotes

Banknotes that are fragmented, burnt, decayed or otherwise badly damaged cannot be sorted automatically, and are handed over to the SNB headquarters in Berne for inspection. If more than half of a genuine banknote is intact, and its serial number is identifiable, the SNB will redeem it at nominal value. If exactly half the banknote is intact, half of the nominal value is redeemed. Notes that are less than 50% intact cannot be redeemed.

Survival of the largest

The lifespan of a banknote depends on its denomination. Large denominations, like the 1000-franc note, are, aside from their use as a means of payment, more frequently used as a store of value and thus have a longer lifespan than small denomination notes, which are primarily used for payments and are thus exposed to more wear and tear. The 200-franc and 100-franc notes circulate for about five years, whereas the 50-franc, 20-franc and 10-franc notes have to be replaced after around three years. On average, a 1000-franc note lasts roughly 20 years.

What to do with a torn 100-franc note?


Old, damaged or soiled banknotes and coins may be exchanged at the public counters in the SNB headquarters in Berne and Zurich, or at one of the agencies operated by the cantonal banks on the SNB’s behalf. Recalled banknotes (sixth series) as well as damaged notes and coins may be replaced with new ones.

Brand new notes and freshly minted coins may also be obtained at the SNB – albeit only in Swiss francs: the SNB does not exchange foreign currencies. The staff at the SNB’s public counters would be happy to answer any cash-related questions you may have.

Picture: Gabriela Gerber and Lukas Bardill, SNB

Banknote monopoly


The SNB has been Switzerland’s central bank since 1907, and is entrusted with the banknote monopoly. This means that the SNB alone is authorised to manufacture and distribute Swiss banknotes.
Expedition zum Notenmonopol

The SNB commenced operations in 1907. The Confederation granted it the exclusive right to issue Swiss banknotes, and the SNB has held the monopoly ever since. Banknotes are printed by Orell Füssli Security Printing Ltd under contract to the SNB. The right of coinage (i.e. the right to mint coins), on the other hand, lies with the Confederation; coins are minted by Swissmint and then put into circulation by the SNB.

And what about book money?

Today, the majority of Swiss francs (almost 90%) exist in the form of book money, a large proportion of which is created by the banks when they grant loans to companies and households. Book money is extremely practical when it comes to paying salaries and invoices or settling restaurant bills, for instance. But how exactly does this work? Commercial banks keep so-called sight deposit accounts at the SNB, on which they hold legally mandated minimum reserves. Banks use these sight deposit accounts to settle cashless payments for their clients, and to process their own transactions. The shared payment system used for this purpose is called Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC).

Legal tender

Swiss francs in the form of banknotes, coins and book money held on sight deposit accounts at the SNB are deemed legal tender. In general, this legal tender must be unconditionally accepted as payment everywhere, unless other contractual arrangements have been made. Of course, payment can also be made in Switzerland by credit card, bank transfer or in a currency other than the Swiss franc, provided the seller agrees.

Here to stay


In Switzerland, the ratio of cash to gross domestic product (GDP) has fallen steadily throughout the second half of the 20th century as a result of easier access to banking services and advances in cashless payment technologies. Nonetheless, cash continues to play an important role both as a means of payment and as a store of value. This is evidenced by the fact that the ratio of banknotes in circulation to GDP has remained largely stable since the 1990s – indeed, it has even increased again slightly since the outbreak of the financial crisis in 2007.

Once worth its weight in gold


In the past, money was backed by gold. Today, however, the responsibility for maintaining its value lies with the SNB. It is entrusted with managing monetary policy in such a way that the amount of money in circulation is calibrated to the economy’s needs.

Video: Gabriela Gerber and Lukas Bardill, SNB

We all want cash in a crisis


Since the outbreak of the financial crisis in 2007, there has been a sharp rise in the amount of cash in circulation. Why does demand for cash rise in times like these? First, financial and economic crises make people insecure. As their confidence in banks and book money tends to dwindle, they withdraw money from their accounts, thereby increasing the amount of cash in circulation. Second, interest rates are low, which means less income on bank accounts. Depositing money at a bank is less attractive when interest rates are low than when they are high.

Tout savoir sur l’argent

L’argent: un simple morceau de métal, un bout de papier ou un chiffre à l’écran? Pas seulement. Comme il joue un rôle capital dans l’économie et notre vie quotidienne; il nous concerne tous. La Banque nationale (BNS) explique ici ce qu’il faut savoir à son sujet.

L’argent au fil du temps


  • Aufmacher 01

    A l’origine

    Tout commence avec le troc: on échange ce que l’on a en trop contre ce dont on a besoin.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Il y a des milliers d’années

    Mais le troc a un grand inconvénient: les parties doivent avoir des besoins concordants. Comme ce n’est pas toujours le cas, l’opération peut devenir très pénible, voire échouer.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Il y a des milliers d’années

    Pour pallier cet inconvénient, les gens commencent à régler leurs achats à l’aide d’un moyen d’échange, c’est-à-dire un bien très demandé et accepté par tout le monde, par exemple des coquillages.

  • Aufmacher 04

    Il y a environ 3 000 ans

    Peu à peu, les moyens d’échange se sont uniformisés: les premières pièces de monnaie sont frappées dans différentes régions, par exemple dans la Grèce antique ou en Chine.

  • Aufmacher 05

    Il y a environ 1 000 ans

    Les tout premiers billets de banque sont émis en Chine. Moins lourds, ils sont plus pratiques que les pièces, surtout pour les gros montants.

  • Aufmacher 06

    Au XVIIe siècle

    En Europe, les premiers billets de banque sont émis par les banques centrales de Suède et d’Angleterre.

  • Aufmacher 07

    En 1850

    Le franc suisse est introduit: il devient la monnaie nationale et remplace les diverses monnaies en circulation.

  • Aufmacher 08

    Aujourd’hui

    Les cartes de crédit, la banque en ligne et le mobile banking sont de plus en plus utilisés, mais l’argent liquide garde son importance pour les opérations de paiement.

L’argent, c’est quoi au juste?


L’argent joue un rôle capital, tant dans l’économie que dans la vie quotidienne. Sans lui, des actes de tous les jours, comme se loger, se nourrir, téléphoner ou prendre le train, seraient impossibles. Tout le monde le sait: l’argent constitue notre moyen de paiement. Mais il remplit aussi d’autres fonctions. Il est utilisé pour épargner, c’est-à-dire comme réserve de valeur. Il permet également de comparer les prix; c’est une unité de compte. L’argent peut remplir ces fonctions à deux conditions: il doit être universellement accepté, et ses utilisateurs doivent avoir confiance dans la persistance de sa valeur.

Bonjour, je voudrais déposer cette vache

La BNS met l’argent en circulation


L’approvisionnement en numéraire est un cycle. Son point de départ est le besoin d’argent liquide de la population et de l’économie, qui est satisfait par la BNS via son réseau de services de caisse, les banques et d’autres clients commerciaux. Chaque billet de banque utilisé à un guichet ou provenant d’un bancomat a un jour été mis en circulation par la Banque nationale. Il en va de même pour les pièces de monnaie. La Banque nationale met en circulation des pièces et des billets neufs mais aussi usagés. Les billets de banque et les pièces de monnaie qui sont retournés à la Banque nationale font l’objet d’un comptage et d’un examen quant à leur authenticité et à leur état. La BNS remet ensuite en circulation les billets et les pièces authentiques et en bon état.

Séries actuelles de billets de banque


En avril 2016, la Banque nationale a mis en circulation le nouveau billet de 50 francs. Les autres coupures seront émises au cours des années suivantes. Les billets de la huitième série conservent leur validité jusqu’à nouvel avis.

Deux séries de billets de banque sont actuellement en circulation, la huitième et la neuvième. L’émission de la neuvième série a été lancée en avril 2016 avec la coupure de 50 francs, qui constitue dès lors un moyen de paiement ayant cours légal. Les autres coupures suivront jusqu’en 2019. Le graphisme de la nouvelle série a été conçu par Manuela Pfrunder.

La huitième série de billets est encore valable

La huitième série de billets de banque a été mise en circulation par la Banque nationale entre 1995 et 1998. Conçus par Jörg Zintzmeyer, les billets de cette série continuent à représenter des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal en Suisse. La sixième série de billets de banque a précédé les séries actuelles et a été rappelée le 1er mai 2000. Depuis lors, les billets de cette série ne constituent plus des moyens de paiement ayant cours légal, mais ils peuvent encore être échangés à la Banque nationale à leur valeur nominale jusqu’au 30 avril 2020.

La sécurité est la priorité numéro 1

Depuis les années 1950, la Banque nationale a émis une nouvelle série de billets environ tous les vingt ans, en veillant toujours à satisfaire à des exigences élevées en matière de sécurité, de fonctionnalité et de graphisme. La sécurité est primordiale: les éléments de sécurité doivent permettre au public de distinguer aisément les vrais billets des faux. L’évolution fulgurante de la technique de reproduction contraint la BNS à développer sans cesse de nouveaux éléments de sécurité en coopération avec ses sociétés partenaires. Sur toutes les coupures, les éléments de sécurité figurent à des endroits bien visibles et sont faciles à vérifier.

Que vaut un demi-billet de 100 francs?


Malgré leur grande solidité, les billets de banque suisses sont régulièrement endommagés. Dans de nombreux cas, la BNS rembourse les demi-billets, les billets mordillés ou présentant des traces de brûlure.

Seuls les billets de banque qui reviennent entiers et dans un état relativement satisfaisant à la Banque nationale peuvent être soumis à un tri et à un contrôle d’authenticité automatiques. La BNS utilise à cet effet des machines de tri à broyeur intégré, qui détruisent immédiatement les billets reconnus comme authentiques mais devenus inutilisables. Lors du processus de destruction, les billets sont réduits en confettis, lesquels sont ensuite pressés et envoyés dans une usine d’incinération.

Contrôle des billets fortement endommagés

Les billets de banque déchirés, brûlés, moisis ou extrêmement détériorés ne peuvent pas être triés automatiquement. Ils sont envoyés au siège de la Banque nationale à Berne pour contrôle de leur authenticité. Les billets authentiques sont remboursés à leur valeur nominale si leur numéro de série peut être reconnu et si le fragment est plus grand que la moitié du billet. Si une personne présente exactement un demi-billet, elle se verra rembourser la moitié de la valeur nominale. Un fragment inférieur à la moitié du billet ne donne lieu à aucun remboursement.

Les grosses coupures durent plus longtemps

La durée de vie des billets varie selon les coupures. Les grosses coupures, comme le billet de 1000 francs, durent plus longtemps que les billets de 10 ou de 20 francs. Cela tient à l’usage qu’il en est fait: les petites coupures servent surtout de moyens de paiement et s’usent donc plus vite, tandis que les grosses coupures sont également utilisées comme réserve de valeur. Les billets de 10, 20 et 50 francs doivent être remplacés après trois ans environ, alors que ceux de 100 et de 200 francs durent approximativement cinq ans, et ceux de 1000 francs, quelque vingt ans en moyenne.

Mon billet de cent francs est déchiré, que faire?


Les personnes détenant des billets de banque ou des pièces abîmés ou salis peuvent les échanger à la Banque nationale, auprès de ses sièges de Berne et de Zurich ou auprès de ses agences gérées par les banques cantonales. Les billets rappelés (billets de la sixième série) peuvent aussi y être échangés.

La Banque nationale propose aussi des billets et des pièces tout neufs, mais uniquement en francs suisses. Elle n’échange pas de monnaies étrangères. Bien entendu, les collaborateurs travaillant aux guichets répondent volontiers à toutes les questions relatives à l’argent liquide.

Illustration: BNS, Gabriela Gerber et Lukas Bardill.

Le monopole d’émission des billets


La Suisse possède une banque centrale depuis 1907. Détenant le monopole d’émission, cette banque est la seule institution qui a le droit de produire et de mettre en circulation les billets de banque suisses.
Le monopole d’émission des billets

La Banque nationale suisse a ouvert ses portes en 1907. Elle a reçu de la Confédération le droit exclusif d’émettre des billets de banque et exerce, depuis lors, le monopole d’émission. Elle est donc la seule institution autorisée à produire et à mettre en circulation les billets de banque suisses. Ceux-ci sont imprimés par Orell Füssli Sicherheitsdruck AG sur mandat de la Banque nationale. Par contre, le droit de battre monnaie est du ressort de la Confédération. Les pièces sont frappées par Swissmint et mises en circulation par la BNS.

Et la monnaie scripturale?

De nos jours, la monnaie scripturale représente près de 90% des francs suisses, dont une grande partie est créée par les banques commerciales lorsqu’elles octroient des crédits aux ménages et aux entreprises. La monnaie scripturale est très pratique pour effectuer des opérations de paiement, par exemple pour verser des salaires, régler des factures ou s’acquitter d’une note de restaurant. Mais comment fonctionne-t-elle exactement? Les banques ont un compte à la Banque nationale. Il s’agit plus précisément d’un compte de virement sur lequel elles détiennent les réserves minimales que leur impose la loi. Elles se servent aussi de ce compte pour exécuter les paiements sans numéraire de leurs clients ainsi que les leurs. Le système de paiement commun utilisé à cet effet est le Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC).

Moyens de paiement ayant cours légal

Les francs suisses sous forme de billets, de pièces et d’avoirs que les banques détiennent sur leurs comptes de virement à la BNS constituent les moyens de paiement ayant cours légal. En d’autres termes, toute personne est tenue de les accepter en paiement sans limitation de la somme, sauf convention contractuelle contraire. Bien sûr, il est aussi possible de payer en Suisse avec sa carte de crédit, par virement bancaire ou dans une autre monnaie que le franc, mais il faut pour cela obtenir l’accord du vendeur.

L’argent liquide: le glas n’a pas sonné


En Suisse, la part du numéraire n’a cessé de diminuer par rapport au produit intérieur brut (PIB) durant la seconde moitié du XXe siècle. Ce recul s’explique par l’accès facilité aux prestations bancaires et par le progrès de la technologie des paiements sans numéraire. Le numéraire continue cependant à jouer un grand rôle, tant à des fins de paiement que de réserve de valeur. En effet, le rapport entre les billets en circulation et le PIB est resté stable depuis les années 1990 et a même de nouveau légèrement augmenté depuis l’éclatement de la crise financière en 2007.

Quand l’argent valait son pesant d’or


La valeur de l’argent était jadis déterminée par l’or. Aujourd’hui, c’est la Banque nationale qui la garantit. Ainsi, la Banque nationale veille, par sa politique monétaire, à ce que la quantité d’argent en circulation corresponde aux besoins de l’économie.

Vidéo: BNS, Gabriela Gerber et Lukas Bardill.

En période de crise, on veut du liquide


Depuis l’éclatement de la crise financière en 2007, le numéraire en circulation est en forte augmentation. Mais pourquoi le besoin de détenir de l’argent liquide est-il plus grand pendant de telles périodes? Premièrement, parce que les crises financières et économiques suscitent de l’inquiétude. La population a dans l’ensemble moins confiance dans les banques et dans la monnaie scripturale. Elle retire ses économies des comptes et, par conséquent, le numéraire en circulation s’accroît. Secondement, parce que les taux d’intérêt sont faibles. L’épargne rapporte donc moins. En effet, il est moins attrayant de placer son argent à la banque quand les intérêts sont bas que quand ils sont élevés.