Implementation of monetary policy

The SNB can deploy various instruments to ensure price stability in our country. It uses these to implement its monetary policy – a complex task that is subject to many uncertainties. The SNB has to adjust its policy continuously to economic and monetary conditions. Occasionally it also has to enter uncharted waters, particularly when conventional instruments have been exhausted.

The SNB’s monetary policy instruments


  • Aufmacher 01

    The SNB uses different liquidity-providing and liquidity-absorbing instruments to implement its monetary policy.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Through liquidity-providing operations, the SNB supplies the banking system with more liquidity.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Through liquidity-absorbing operations, the SNB reduces the liquidity in the banking system.

Implementation of monetary policy


The SNB policy rate is the key instrument used by the SNB to implement its monetary policy.

The SNB implements its monetary policy by setting the SNB policy rate. In so doing, it seeks to keep the secured short-term Swiss franc money market rates close to the SNB policy rate. The most representative of these money market rates today is SARON.

In addition to steering interest rates via its policy rate, the SNB also has other ways of implementing monetary policy. In particular, it can intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary, buying or selling Swiss francs against foreign currencies.

Repo transactions

Repo transactions are one of the key instruments that the SNB uses to implement monetary policy. In a repo transaction, the cash provider buys securities from the cash taker. The countervalue is credited to the cash taker’s sight deposit account. Simultaneously, the parties enter into an agreement whereby the cash taker buys back the securities at a later date. The cash taker thus receives a short-term Swiss franc loan from the cash provider for the term of the transaction on which it pays interest at the repo rate. The cash provider receives collateral in the form of securities. The SNB may operate on the repo market both as cash taker and cash provider. In addition to repo transactions, the SNB also has other instruments for implementing monetary policy.

Interest rate environment

The SNB defines how much money it wishes to make available to the banks, at what price (repo rate) and for how long, thereby influencing interest rates within the economy. The size of these repo transactions determines how much money (or ‘liquidity’) the banks receive from the SNB.

Why SARON tracks the SNB policy rate


When the SNB changes its policy rate, SARON adjusts in line with the change. Why? Only the SNB is able to steer Swiss franc liquidity, and therefore it alone can define the price (i.e. interest) charged for this liquidity. The interest rate terms for monetary policy instruments are based on the SNB policy rate. The interest on sight deposits currently corresponds to the SNB policy rate, for example. In this way the SNB makes sure, when implementing its monetary policy, that the secured short-term money market rates are close to the SNB policy rate.

However, the effect of the SNB policy rate described above is not limited to SARON, as the banks also adjust the interest they charge on loans to companies and private individuals (e.g. mortgages).

Sample scenario: the SNB raises interest rates

Let us assume the SNB’s inflation forecast points to a sharp rise in inflation. What action should be taken? In order to counteract the threat of inflation, the SNB tightens its monetary policy. It announces that it is raising the SNB policy rate. The banks consequently raise their own lending rates. Companies and households, in turn, take out fewer (now more expensive) loans, which reins in demand for goods and services. Companies cut back production. As they are no longer able to sell their products as well as previously, firms refrain from further price increases.

The impact of the exchange rate

Any such tightening also engenders effects via the exchange rate: when interest rates are higher, the Swiss franc appreciates. Imports become cheaper, which has a direct dampening effect on inflation. Exports, on the other hand, become more expensive and foreign demand for Swiss goods declines; this indirectly dampens inflation. The SNB thus achieves its objective in that the risk of inflation is warded off.

When repos absorb liquidity


Repo transactions can be used not just to increase, but also to decrease liquidity at banks. Liquidity-absorbing repos work like liquidity-providing repos, just in reverse. The SNB sells securities to a bank at a defined price and the parties simultaneously agree that the SNB will buy back the securities at the end of the contract term – at a higher price. The difference between the repurchase price and the sale price is the interest (or repo) rate that the SNB pays the commercial bank.

How the SNB reduces liquidity in the banking system

Monetary aggregates


The monetary base M0 is composed of banknotes in circulation and domestic banks’ sight deposits with the SNB. M1 includes money that can readily be used to make payments at any time: cash in circulation and Swiss franc-denominated sight deposits at commercial banks. M2 is comprised of M1 plus Swiss franc-denominated savings deposits. M3 is made up of the M2 monetary aggregate plus Swiss franc-denominated time deposits. The monetary base is the only monetary aggregate the SNB can steer directly; it influences the others indirectly through its monetary policy.

Picture: Keystone

How the financial crisis materialised


It began in August 2007 when the real estate bubble in the US burst. With the collapse of the US investment bank Lehman Brothers in September 2008, a financial crisis the like of which the world had never seen was unleashed.

Lehman Brothers
Picture: Keystone

The SNB’s rapid, comprehensive reaction


The SNB, along with other central banks, reacted quickly and comprehensively. It lowered the target range for the reference interest rate in several increments and provided the banking system with ample liquidity. At the same time, the SNB collaborated with the Confederation in putting together a package of measures to support the beleaguered UBS. It created the so-called StabFund and granted this entity a loan. The StabFund then took over UBS assets that the market had suddenly turned its back on. These measures allowed UBS to stabilise its finances and buttressed the Swiss finance industry as a whole. In 2013 the SNB successfully closed the StabFund chapter.

Economic downturn and euro crisis: what followed


The financial crisis led first to a severe downturn in the global economy, then, in 2010, to the debt crisis in the euro area. The SNB reacted with a range of exceptional measures aimed in particular at the strength of the Swiss franc, which had appreciated substantially as a result of the euro crisis, thereby bringing deflationary risks with it. It lowered the target range to zero, flooded the banking system with liquidity and purchased foreign currencies against Swiss francs. On 6 September 2011, the SNB set a minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro. Until 15 January 2015, the minimum exchange rate stood at the centre of monetary policy and the SNB enforced it with the utmost determination.

No inflation risk for the foreseeable future


The monetary base increased more than tenfold between 2007 and 2018. Despite this, the SNB’s inflation forecast indicates that there are no inflation risks for Switzerland in the foreseeable future.

Inflationsprognose

When interest rates go below zero


On 18 December 2014, the SNB announced it was introducing negative interest rates. This move was designed to make Swiss-franc investments less attractive and thereby support the minimum exchange rate. On 15 January 2015, the SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate. In order to counter undue tightening of monetary policy, the SNB simultaneously took interest rates even deeper into negative territory and announced its intention to remain active in the foreign exchange market, as necessary.

Steering interest rates in a new environment

The interest rate on sight deposits with the SNB has since remained at –0.75% and is thus the same as the SNB policy rate. The introduction of negative interest rates had fundamentally the same effect as an interest rate cut in positive territory. Interest rates in Switzerland generally declined across the board.

When the interest rate differential is too small

Thanks to negative interest rates, the SNB has managed to ensure that Switzerland’s interest rate level is once again below that of other countries. If, for example, interest rates in the euro area fall, but the Swiss franc interest rate stays at zero, the interest rate differential between the Swiss franc and the (typically higher-interest) euro diminishes. This makes Swiss franc investments more attractive than investments in euros. Demand for Swiss francs thus increases and the currency strengthens.

Negative interest widens interest differential

Negative interest helps to once more widen the interest rate differential with other currencies. When investments in Swiss francs earn less interest than in other currencies, they are less attractive. The negative interest rate thus helps to ease demand for the Swiss franc, and should contribute to a weakening of the currency.

High monetary base = large balance sheet


The increase in the monetary base also has implications for the SNB’s balance sheet. The balance sheet total was approximately CHF 100 billion before the crisis; at the end of 2016, it stood at CHF 747 billion. This state of affairs presents risks for the SNB’s annual financial statements because, as recent years have clearly shown, the result may fluctuate substantially due to exchange rate movements. But the SNB’s balance sheet is ultimately dictated by monetary policy. The fact that it has expanded to its current size is a consequence of monetary policy measures that are necessary in order to ensure price stability.

La mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire

La Banque nationale suisse (BNS) peut recourir à différents instruments pour conduire la politique monétaire en Suisse en vue d’assurer la stabilité des prix. Il s’agit là d’une tâche complexe, entachée de nombreuses incertitudes. La BNS doit régulièrement adapter sa politique monétaire en fonction de la situation économique et monétaire. Il lui faut même parfois emprunter de nouvelles voies lorsque les instruments traditionnels atteignent leurs limites.

Les instruments de politique monétaire de la Banque nationale


  • La BNS utilise différents instruments visant à injecter ou à résorber des liquidités pour mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire.

  • Pour approvisionner le système bancaire en liquidités, la BNS procède à des opérations visant à en injecter.

  • Pour réduire les liquidités dans le système bancaire, la BNS effectue des opérations visant à en résorber.

Mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire


La Banque nationale met en œuvre sa politique monétaire essentiellement au moyen de son taux directeur.

La BNS met en œuvre sa politique monétaire en fixant son propre taux directeur. La Banque nationale vise ainsi à maintenir les taux d’intérêt à court terme du marché monétaire gagé en francs à un niveau proche de celui de son taux directeur. Le SARON est actuellement le plus représentatif de ces taux.

Gérer les taux d’intérêt par le canal de son taux directeur n’est pas le seul moyen dont dispose la Banque nationale pour mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire. Il en existe d’autres. En cas de nécessité, la BNS peut notamment intervenir activement sur le marché des changes en vendant ou en achetant des francs contre des devises.

Les pensions de titres

Les pensions de titres sont un instrument important qu’utilise la Banque nationale pour réaliser sa politique monétaire. Dans une pension de titres, un prêteur achète des titres à un emprunteur. Le montant est crédité sur le compte de virement de l’emprunteur. Il est convenu simultanément que les titres seront rachetés ultérieurement par l’emprunteur. Pendant la durée de l’opération, l’emprunteur obtient ainsi du prêteur un crédit à court terme en francs, pour lequel l’emprunteur verse un intérêt, calculé au taux des pensions de titres. Le prêteur reçoit des titres en gage. La Banque nationale peut exercer aussi bien le rôle d’emprunteur que celui de prêteur sur le marché des pensions de titres. Elle ne dispose cependant pas uniquement de cet instrument, mais d’autres encore pour mettre en œuvre sa politique monétaire.

Le niveau des taux d’intérêt

La Banque nationale fixe le volume des opérations de pensions de titres, le coût du prêt, calculé au taux des pensions de titres, et la durée de celui-ci. Ainsi, elle définit le montant – autrement dit, les liquidités – qu’elle met à la disposition des banques et influe sur le niveau des taux d’intérêt.

Pourquoi le SARON s’aligne-t-il sur le taux directeur de la BNS?


Lorsque la Banque nationale modifie son taux directeur, le SARON suit le mouvement. Pourquoi? Seule la BNS gère les liquidités en francs. Elle seule peut donc fixer le prix, soit le taux d’intérêt, de ces liquidités. Les conditions régissant les taux des instruments de politique monétaire sont définies en fonction du taux directeur de la BNS. Le taux appliqué aux avoirs en comptes de virement est donc actuellement le taux directeur de la BNS. Lors de la mise en œuvre de sa politique monétaire, la Banque nationale veille à ce que les taux d’intérêt à court terme du marché monétaire gagé restent à un niveau proche de celui de son taux directeur.

Les effets susmentionnés du taux directeur de la BNS ne se limitent pas au SARON: les banques adaptent les taux des prêts qu’elles accordent aux entreprises et aux particuliers, par exemple pour le financement d’hypothèques.

Exemple: la BNS relève les taux d’intérêt

Supposons que la prévision d’inflation de la BNS indique qu’il faut s’attendre à une nette hausse du renchérissement. Que faire? Pour lutter contre le risque d’inflation, la Banque nationale durcit sa politique monétaire. Elle annonce qu’elle va relever son taux directeur. Les banques augmentent par conséquent les taux auxquels elles octroient des prêts. A leur tour, les entreprises et les ménages contractent moins de prêts – devenus plus onéreux –, ce qui entraîne un repli de la demande de biens et de services. Les entreprises ralentissent alors leur production. Comme elles ont plus de mal à écouler leurs produits, elles renoncent à augmenter à nouveau leurs prix.

L’influence du cours de change

Le cours de change produit un effet supplémentaire. Comme les taux d’intérêt sont plus élevés, le franc s’apprécie. Le prix des importations diminue, ce qui atténue directement l’inflation. En revanche, le prix des exportations augmente, et la demande de biens et de services helvétiques à l’étranger recule, ce qui atténue indirectement l’inflation. La Banque nationale a donc atteint son objectif: le risque d’inflation est écarté.

Résorption des liquidités au moyen des pensions de titres


Les pensions de titres permettent non seulement d’augmenter mais aussi de réduire le niveau des liquidités détenues par les banques. Le principe de fonctionnement est le même pour les deux types de pensions de titres; ce qui change, c’est le sens des transactions. Pour les pensions de titres visant à résorber des liquidités, la BNS vend des titres à une banque à un prix défini. Parallèlement, la BNS et la banque conviennent qu’à l’échéance, la Banque nationale rachètera les titres, mais à un prix plus élevé. La différence entre le prix de rachat et le prix de vente représente l’intérêt que la BNS verse à la banque, qui est calculé au taux des pensions de titres.

Comment la BNS réduit-elle les liquidités dans le système bancaire?

A propos des agrégats ou masses monétaires


La monnaie centrale (M0) englobe les billets de banque en circulation et les avoirs à vue, appelés aussi comptes de virement, que les banques en Suisse détiennent auprès de la BNS. L’agrégat monétaire M1 est constitué de la monnaie qui peut être utilisée en tout temps comme moyen de paiement, soit le numéraire en circulation et les dépôts à vue en francs dans les banques. M2 se compose de M1 et des dépôts d’épargne en francs. M3 comprend pour sa part l’agrégat monétaire M2 et les dépôts à terme en francs. Par sa politique monétaire, la Banque nationale influe directement sur la monnaie centrale et indirectement sur les autres agrégats monétaires.

Illustration: Keystone.

La crise financière: comment en est-on arrivé là?


Tout a commencé en août 2007 avec l’éclatement de la bulle immobilière aux Etats-Unis. La faillite, en septembre 2008, de la banque d’investissement américaine Lehman Brothers a déclenché une crise financière sans précédent.

Lehman Brothers
Illustration: Keystone.

Prompte réaction de la Banque nationale


A l’instar d’autres banques centrales, la Banque nationale a réagi promptement à différents niveaux: elle a progressivement abaissé la marge de fluctuation assignée au taux d’intérêt de référence et a largement approvisionné le système bancaire en liquidités. Parallèlement, elle a mis en place un train de mesures en collaboration avec la Confédération pour aider UBS, qui était en difficulté. A cette fin, elle a créé le fonds de stabilisation StabFund, auquel elle a accordé un prêt. Ce fonds a repris les actifs illiquides d’UBS pour lesquels il n’existait plus de marché. UBS a ainsi pu stabiliser sa situation financière, ce qui a également renforcé la place financière suisse. En 2013, la Banque nationale a pu clore le chapitre StabFund avec succès.

Effondrement conjoncturel et crise de l’euro


La crise financière a tout d’abord entraîné un effondrement de la conjoncture mondiale. Ensuite, la crise de la dette a éclaté dans la zone euro en 2010. La Banque nationale a pris diverses mesures exceptionnelles, notamment en réaction au franc fort. Du fait de la crise de l’euro, celui-ci s’était en effet considérablement apprécié, ce qui avait induit un risque de déflation. La BNS a abaissé jusqu’à zéro la marge de fluctuation assignée au Libor, a injecté de grandes quantités de liquidités dans le système bancaire et a acheté des monnaies étrangères contre des francs. Le 6 septembre 2011, la Banque nationale fixait un cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Jusqu’au 15 janvier 2015, le cours plancher a été au cœur de la mise en œuvre de la politique monétaire, et la Banque nationale l’a fait prévaloir avec toute la détermination requise.

Aucune menace d’inflation dans l’avenir proche


La monnaie centrale a plus que décuplé entre 2007 et 2018. Néanmoins, la prévision d’inflation de la Banque nationale n’indique pas de menace d’inflation en Suisse dans l’avenir proche.

Aucune menace d’inflation dans l’avenir proche

Lorsque le taux d’intérêt passe en zone négative


Le 18 décembre 2014, la Banque nationale a annoncé l’introduction d’un taux d’intérêt négatif. L’objectif était de rendre les placements en francs moins attrayants et de soutenir ainsi le cours plancher. Le 15 janvier 2015, la Banque nationale a supprimé le cours plancher. Afin de contrer un durcissement inopportun de la politique monétaire, la BNS a simultanément abaissé le taux d’intérêt encore plus dans la zone négative et déclaré qu’elle continuerait à intervenir, au besoin, sur le marché des changes.

Gestion des taux d’intérêt dans un nouveau contexte

Le taux d’intérêt appliqué aux avoirs à vue détenus à la BNS s’élève désormais à −0,75%, soit au niveau du taux directeur de la BNS. L’introduction d’un taux d’intérêt négatif a eu, dans l’ensemble, un effet comparable à celui d’une baisse de taux dans la zone positive. La plupart des taux d’intérêt en Suisse ont fléchi sur un large front.

Lorsque l’écart de taux est trop faible

En introduisant le taux d’intérêt négatif, la Banque nationale a voulu abaisser le niveau des taux d’intérêt en Suisse pour qu’il soit inférieur à celui des autres pays. Ainsi, lorsque les taux baissent dans la zone euro, par exemple, mais que le taux d’intérêt sur les placements en francs reste très proche de zéro, l’écart de taux entre les placements en francs et ceux en euros – généralement mieux rémunérés – se rétrécit. Les placements en francs sont donc plus attrayants que ceux en euros. Par conséquent, la demande de francs augmente, et le franc s’apprécie.

L’intérêt négatif creuse l’écart de taux

Le taux d’intérêt négatif aide à rétablir l’écart de taux par rapport aux autres monnaies. Puisque les placements en francs sont moins bien rémunérés que ceux en monnaies étrangères, ils sont moins attrayants. Le taux d’intérêt négatif contribue donc à réduire la demande de francs et devrait ainsi soutenir l’affaiblissement du franc.

Impact de la monnaie centrale sur le bilan


L’augmentation de la monnaie centrale se reflète également dans le bilan de la BNS. Si la somme du bilan avoisinait encore 100 milliards de francs avant la crise financière, elle a atteint quelque 747 milliards de francs fin 2016. Cette situation recèle des risques pour les comptes annuels de la BNS, car les mouvements des cours de change peuvent entraîner une forte fluctuation du résultat, comme on a pu le constater ces dernières années. Le bilan de la BNS doit toutefois rester pleinement au service de la politique monétaire. Son niveau actuel est la conséquence des mesures de politique monétaire, qui sont nécessaires pour garantir la stabilité des prix.