In focus: The history of the minimum exchange rate

The SNB defended the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro with the utmost determination for almost three-and-a-half years. Indeed, monetary policy was geared towards the minimum exchange rate during this period. Today, it is history, for on 15 January 2015, the SNB discontinued the measure in response to international developments.

September 2011: SNB introduces minimum exchange rate


In the summer of 2011, the franc appreciated so strongly that it began to present an acute risk to the Swiss economy and the threat of deflation emerged. The SNB decided to take unconventional action, introducing a minimum exchange rate against the euro.

In monetary policy terms at least, the summer of 2011 was a hot one in Switzerland as the European debt crisis deepened. The euro depreciated substantially. Many investors were therefore keen to park their money in safe Swiss francs. This surge in demand caused the Swiss franc to appreciate rapidly against other major currencies. At times, one euro cost almost as little as one franc; two years previously, one euro had cost around CHF 1.50. Crisis meetings came thick and fast at the SNB. The economy, which had only just got back on its feet after the financial crisis, now had to grapple with huge appreciation. The exceptionally strong Swiss franc presented a major challenge for companies exposed to global competition, and Switzerland’s economy faced an acute risk. As the risk of deflation grew, so too did the threats to price stability.

Capping appreciation

The SNB had to act in order to fulfil its mandate. It therefore cut interest rates further and massively increased the monetary base. These measures had some effect, but the upward pressure on the Swiss franc persisted and intensified again at the beginning of September 2011. The SNB thus went one step further, setting a minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro on 6 September 2011 and underscoring its willingness to enforce the policy with the utmost determination. This measure capped the substantial appreciation of the Swiss franc.

Déjà vu


As the exchange rate plays an important role in price developments and the business cycle, the SNB has always kept a very close eye on the Swiss franc’s performance against other currencies. The introduction of the minimum exchange rate in September 2011 was actually not a first for Switzerland: in September 1978, the SNB had set a minimum exchange rate for the German mark against the Swiss franc. It declared that the franc had to trade at well above 80 francs for 100 German marks. This minimum exchange rate, too, was enforced via foreign exchange market interventions, as and when these proved necessary.

Minimum exchange rate for almost three-and-a-half years


For almost three-and-a-half years, the minimum exchange rate was the right monetary policy tool to ensure price stability in Switzerland and avoid a recession.

Reaffirmation of minimum exchange rate: news conference of June 2013

How was the minimum exchange rate enforced?


Whenever the euro approached CHF 1.20, the SNB bought euros and paid for them using newly created Swiss francs. In this way, it prevented a further appreciation of our currency.

An exchange rate is nothing more than the price of a currency expressed in another currency. At a euro/Swiss franc exchange rate of 1.20, one euro costs CHF 1.20. If the exchange rate is 1.10, a euro only costs CHF 1.10, i.e. the euro has become cheaper and the Swiss franc more valuable. In other words, if the euro/Swiss franc rate exchange rate falls, the Swiss franc appreciates. As in the goods market, the price of a currency rises when demand (in this case for Swiss francs) increases.

The Swiss franc: supply up, value down

This was precisely the approach the SNB adopted: whenever the minimum exchange rate came under pressure, it purchased euros – occasionally in very large quantities – and paid for them with newly created Swiss francs. This policy increased the supply of Swiss francs and the demand for euros, allowing the SNB to keep the value of the franc stable and influence the exchange rate in a targeted way.

Unlimited = credible

The key here is that, because the SNB has a monopoly on banknote issuance, it can create unlimited quantities of Swiss francs. The SNB was thus not only willing, but able, to enforce the minimum exchange rate, and this gave it the required credibility. The market knew that the SNB was in a position to pay CHF 1.20 for one euro at all times as long as it was prepared to uphold the minimum exchange rate regime.

Impact on the SNB’s balance sheet

Pumpe

With utmost determination


The SNB consistently emphasised that it would enforce this minimum rate ‘with the utmost determination’ and that it was prepared to buy foreign currency in unlimited quantities. This determination was put to the test in the summer of 2012 when the SNB was obliged to buy enormous quantities of euros. From autumn 2012, the situation calmed down, and the SNB did not have to defend the minimum exchange rate through foreign currency purchases in 2013. However, towards the end of 2014 the euro weakened against all currencies. The euro/Swiss franc exchange rate again edged closer to the minimum exchange rate and the SNB had to intervene in the foreign exchange market once more. In an effort to make Swiss franc investments less attractive and thus support the minimum exchange rate, the SNB announced the introduction of negative interest rates on 18 December 2014.

Behind the scenes at the SNB’s trading room


Thanks to round-the-clock monitoring of the foreign exchange market, the SNB was able to ensure that the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro was not breached.

Handelsraum

The end of the minimum exchange rate


On 15 January 2015, the SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate. It simultaneously lowered interest rates, which were already below zero, further into negative territory to cushion the impact of the discontinuation.

The minimum exchange rate was only ever intended to be an exceptional, temporary measure. In the period during which it was in place, the environment changed significantly. In contrast to 2011, the environment at the beginning of 2015 was no longer characterised by Swiss franc strength, but by euro weakness. The European Central Bank (ECB) had once again begun to loosen its monetary policy. It thus became clear that the minimum exchange rate could only be upheld through increasingly large foreign exchange market interventions – with no prospect of a long-term stabilisation on the exchange rate front.

Minimum exchange rate no longer justified

Maintaining the minimum exchange rate under such circumstances would have led to an uncontrollable expansion of the SNB’s balance sheet, which, in turn, could one day have resulted in the SNB losing control of its monetary policy. The instrument was thus no longer sustainable. Turning a blind eye to this fact would, in the long term, have undermined the SNB’s ability to conduct independent monetary policy in Switzerland. The risks of continuing to adhere to the minimum exchange rate would have been out of all proportion to the benefits, particularly as the global economy – and Switzerland’s economy – were more robust by early 2015 than they had been in 2011.

The announcement came as a complete surprise...

At 10.30 precisely on 15 January 2015, the SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate. The announcement took everyone – the markets, the media, politicians, international players and the Swiss public – by surprise. Foreign exchange markets were rocked in the wake of the move, with the EUR/CHF exchange rate falling to CHF 0.85 per euro in the immediate aftermath. But the situation soon calmed, order was restored and exchange-rate volatility subsided.

... but was unavoidable

Why didn’t the SNB adopt a more gradual approach and discontinue the minimum exchange rate in stages, or announce its intentions long in advance? In fact, the SNB had no choice but to act in the way it did. Any hint that the SNB was no longer fully committed to the minimum exchange rate would have generated huge pressure on the foreign exchange market and would have forced it to intervene on an even larger scale to defend the minimum exchange rate.

Swift action required

As soon as it became clear that a discontinuation was unavoidable, the SNB acted swiftly. Had it delayed the decision to discontinue the minimum exchange rate, the turmoil on the financial markets and the effects on the economy would have been no less severe – and the SNB’s losses would have been substantially larger.

L’histoire du cours plancher

Pendant près de trois ans et demi, la Banque nationale suisse (BNS) a défendu le cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro avec toute la détermination requise. Durant cette période, la politique monétaire était entièrement placée sous le signe du cours plancher. Ce dernier appartient désormais au passé. En effet, les développements sur le plan international ont amené la Banque nationale à le supprimer le 15 janvier 2015.

Septembre 2011: la BNS introduit le cours plancher


Durant l’été 2011, l’appréciation du franc était telle que l’économie suisse s’en est trouvée gravement menacée et que des risques de déflation se sont profilés. La BNS a alors pris une mesure exceptionnelle et introduit un cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro.

En Suisse, l’été 2011 restera gravé dans les mémoires, du moins en matière de politique monétaire. En Europe, la crise de la dette s’était aggravée, et l’euro avait beaucoup perdu de sa valeur. De nombreux investisseurs préféraient donc investir dans le franc, considéré comme une valeur sûre. Face à cette vive demande, le cours du franc avait grimpé rapidement par rapport à d’autres monnaies importantes. Par moments, 1 euro coûtait à peine plus de 1 franc, alors que deux ans plus tôt, il valait encore 1,50 franc. La Banque nationale organisait réunion de crise sur réunion de crise. L’économie venait à peine de se remettre de la crise financière et devait maintenant faire face à une très forte appréciation du franc. La vigueur exceptionnelle de la monnaie helvétique représentait un défi majeur pour les entreprises suisses devant affronter la concurrence internationale. L’économie de notre pays était gravement menacée. Vu le risque croissant de déflation, la stabilité des prix était en jeu.

Contenir l’appréciation du franc

Si elle voulait remplir sa mission, la Banque nationale devait agir. Elle a donc procédé à de nouvelles baisses de taux d’intérêt et accru considérablement la monnaie centrale. Ces mesures ont eu un certain effet, mais la pression à la hausse sur le franc n’a pas disparu pour autant, et elle s’est même encore renforcée début septembre. C’est pourquoi le 6 septembre 2011, la Banque nationale est allée encore plus loin en fixant un cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro. Elle a annoncé qu’elle ferait prévaloir ce cours plancher avec toute la détermination requise. Cette mesure lui a permis de contenir la forte appréciation du franc.

L’histoire se répète


Le cours du franc joue un rôle fondamental dans l’évolution des prix et de la conjoncture. C’est pourquoi la Banque nationale observe depuis toujours très attentivement ses fluctuations. Ainsi, l’introduction du cours plancher en septembre 2011 n’était pas une nouveauté. Une première fois déjà, en septembre 1978, la Banque nationale avait fixé un cours plancher officiel: elle avait alors annoncé qu’elle entendait défendre un cours de change nettement supérieur à 80 centimes pour 1 deutsche mark. A l’époque, la BNS avait également fait prévaloir ce cours plancher en intervenant si nécessaire sur le marché des changes.

Sous le signe du cours plancher


Pendant près de trois ans et demi, le cours plancher a été l’instrument de politique monétaire adéquat pour assurer la stabilité des prix à moyen terme en Suisse et éviter une récession.

Maintien du cours plancher: conférence de presse de juin 2013

Le cours plancher, mode d’emploi


Dès que l’euro s’approchait de la barre de 1,20 franc, la Banque nationale achetait des euros en échange de francs récemment créés. Elle a ainsi pu empêcher une nouvelle appréciation du franc.

Un cours de change n’est autre que le prix d’une monnaie exprimé dans une monnaie étrangère. Un cours de change de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro signifie que 1 euro coûte 1,20 franc. Lorsque le cours de change est de 1,10 franc, 1 euro ne coûte plus que 1,10 franc; l’euro est donc devenu meilleur marché, alors que le franc a pris de la valeur. En d’autres termes, lorsque le cours de l’euro baisse par rapport au franc, ce dernier s’apprécie. Comme sur le marché des biens et des services, le prix augmente lorsque la demande s’accroît (en l’occurrence la demande de francs).

Hausse de l’offre, baisse du prix

C’est précisément ce principe que la Banque nationale a appliqué: lorsque le cours plancher était sous pression, elle achetait des euros – parfois en très grande quantité – en échange de francs qu’elle venait de créer. En augmentant ainsi l’offre de francs et en stimulant la demande d’euros, la BNS était en mesure de maintenir stable le prix du franc et d’influer sur le cours de change de manière ciblée.

Une question de crédibilité

Comme elle détient le monopole d’émission des billets de banque, la Banque nationale peut créer des francs en quantité illimitée. Elle avait donc à la fois la volonté mais aussi la capacité de faire prévaloir le cours plancher, ce qui lui conférait la crédibilité nécessaire. Le marché savait que la BNS était à tout moment en mesure de payer 1,20 franc pour 1 euro, et ce aussi longtemps qu’elle entendait maintenir le cours plancher.

Impact sur le bilan de la BNS

Pumpe

Toute la détermination requise


La BNS a toujours affirmé qu’elle était déterminée à faire prévaloir le cours plancher et prête, à cette fin, à acheter des devises en quantité illimitée. En effet, à l’été 2012, elle a dû acquérir beaucoup d’euros. Puis à partir de l’automne, la situation s’est apaisée, et en 2013, la BNS n’a pas dû acheter de devises pour défendre le cours plancher. Vers fin 2014, l’euro a faibli face à toutes les monnaies. Le cours du franc par rapport à l’euro s’est à nouveau rapproché du cours plancher, contraignant la BNS à intervenir sur le marché des changes. Afin de réduire l’attractivité des placements en francs et de soutenir le cours plancher, la BNS a introduit un taux d’intérêt négatif le 18 décembre 2014.

La salle des marchés en action


En vue d’assurer la défense du cours plancher de 1,20 franc pour 1 euro, la Banque nationale surveillait jour et nuit l’évolution du marché des changes.

La salle des marchés en action

La fin du cours plancher


Le 15 janvier 2015, la Banque nationale a supprimé le cours plancher. Alors que certains taux d’intérêt étaient déjà négatifs, elle a également abaissé une nouvelle fois le niveau général des taux d’intérêt afin d’amortir les effets de la suppression du cours plancher.

Le cours plancher avait d’emblée été conçu comme une mesure exceptionnelle et temporaire. Depuis son introduction, l’environnement avait fortement changé: contrairement à 2011, la situation de début 2015 ne se caractérisait pas par la force générale du franc, mais par la faiblesse de l’euro. La Banque centrale européenne venait de lancer un nouveau programme d’assouplissement massif de sa politique monétaire. Pour faire prévaloir le cours plancher, la Banque nationale aurait donc dû recourir à des interventions de plus en plus importantes, sans toutefois pouvoir s’attendre à ce que la situation se stabilise durablement sur le marché des changes.

Le cours plancher n’était plus justifié

Ces interventions auraient conduit à une extension incontrôlée du bilan. La Banque nationale aurait ainsi risqué de perdre la maîtrise de sa politique monétaire. Le cours plancher n’avait plus un caractère durable, car à long terme, la BNS n’aurait plus été en mesure de mener une politique monétaire indépendante dans l’intérêt du pays. Les risques liés au maintien du cours plancher étaient désormais démesurés par rapport à l’utilité de cet instrument, d’autant plus qu’en Suisse comme dans le reste du monde, l’économie se portait beaucoup mieux qu’en 2011.

La surprise a été grande...

La Banque nationale a supprimé le cours plancher le 15 janvier 2015 à 10 h 30. Tout le monde a été surpris: les marchés, les médias, la sphère politique, les acteurs internationaux, sans oublier la population suisse. L’annonce de la suppression a violemment secoué le marché des changes. En quelques minutes, le cours de l’euro a chuté à 0,85 franc. Mais le calme est rapidement revenu sur le marché, la situation s’est stabilisée, et les fluctuations du cours de change ont fini par s’atténuer.

... mais elle était inévitable

Pourquoi la Banque nationale n’a-t-elle pas envisagé une sortie progressive du cours plancher ou annoncé longtemps à l’avance la suppression de cet instrument? Cela était tout simplement impossible. En effet, tout signal indiquant que la BNS ne ferait plus prévaloir le cours plancher sans réserve aurait immédiatement engendré de très fortes pressions sur le marché des changes et contraint la Banque nationale à intervenir encore davantage pour défendre cet instrument.

Il fallait agir vite

Une fois qu’il est apparu clairement que le cours plancher devait être aboli, la Banque nationale a agi rapidement. Reporter la suppression de cet instrument n’aurait servi à rien: les turbulences sur les marchés financiers auraient été tout aussi fortes, et les conséquences pour l’économie n’auraient pas été moins importantes. En outre, la Banque nationale aurait enregistré des pertes bien plus élevées.