In focus: The real estate market

The low interest rates prevailing since the end of 2008 have meant that it has never been cheaper to get a mortgage loan. This can, however, have unanticipated consequences, since extremely low mortgage rates can spur excessive demand for owner-occupied residential property, resulting in a real estate boom. These kinds of developments carry risks, and it is therefore important that the authorities take precautionary countermeasures.

Picture: Keystone

When real estate prices just keep going up


Low interest rates make it possible for a lot of people to buy a house. Demand rises, so do real estate prices, and so does mortgage borrowing. Is this a healthy situation?
Immobilien blase

The historically low interest rates at present make buying a house very attractive. Why? Low interest rates mean that people can take out loans – including mortgage loans – at very favourable conditions. Owning becomes more attractive than renting. In this kind of low interest rate environment, more households can afford real estate than they can when rates are higher. Furthermore, higher incomes, the desire for more living space, population growth and overly optimistic expectations about real estate value can also boost demand. However, if vigorous demand is not met with an immediate increase in the supply of real estate on offer, property prices rise.

Justified or not?

It is hard to gauge whether climbing real estate prices are justified by fundamental factors like rising income or population growth. An increase in real estate prices that far exceeds what can be justified by fundamentals is commonly referred to as a price bubble.

Why are real estate bubbles dangerous?

Experience in Switzerland and abroad has shown that when price bubbles on the real estate market develop and eventually burst, a protracted crisis usually follows. This is because a real estate bubble that bursts takes a toll on banks, households and the economy overall.

SNB sees imbalances


Real estate prices and mortgage loans have grown significantly faster than Switzerland’s GDP over the past few years. Rather than speaking of a ‘bubble’, the SNB refers to ‘imbalances’ in these markets. Since the SNB has a constitutional mandate to ensure the stability of the financial system, it advocates the implementation of precautionary measures. These are aimed at countering the build-up of imbalances – or at least seeing to it that the banking sector’s resilience is strengthened, so that a potential correction of these imbalances causes as little damage as possible.

Why is the SNB involved?


The SNB is required by law to contribute to the stability of the financial system. When the banking system takes on too much risk, the SNB calls attention to this situation and recommends precautionary measures in good time – through a variety of channels, not least its financial stability report. Aside from communication, the SNB has no instruments of its own in this area – rather, it coordinates its activities with federal authorities. Thus for example, the SNB can propose the activation, adjustment or deactivation of the countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) to the Federal Council.

Imbalances: a risk for individual banks...


Banks play a major role in the real estate market because they grant mortgages. In so doing, they must assess how the value of the property will develop over the next few years and whether the client will be able to make interest and amortisation payments. This risk assessment involves a high degree of uncertainty. In recent years, these risks might have been underestimated, with mortgages being granted to households that could struggle to meet their obligations in the event of an interest rate rise. If rising interest rates coincide with falling real estate prices, the situation could become especially critical; when borrowers are unable to meet their obligations and their house is worth less than the mortgage, the bank incurs a loss.

... and for the banking system and the economy


However, the mortgage and real estate markets are significant not just for individual banks, but indeed for the entire banking system, as well as for the Swiss economy. On the one hand, since many banks are active on the mortgage market, any problems arising there or on the real estate market could potentially affect them. On the other, overall indebtedness in Switzerland – as measured by the mortgage-to-GDP ratio – is very high by historical standards. Furthermore, real estate often accounts for a large share of a homeowner’s assets. So if interest rates were to rise and the real estate market to dip sharply, the consequences would be felt not just by individual banks, but also by the banking system, households and the entire Swiss economy.

Painful experiences


There is every reason to fear excesses. At the beginning of the 1990s, Switzerland experienced a severe crisis in its real estate market, with protracted, serious consequences for the entire economy.
Spar und Leikasse Thun
Picture: Keystone

The 1987 stock market crash prompted central banks around the world to pursue expansionary monetary policies and keep interest rates low. In Switzerland, this contributed to an exceptionally rapid rise in house prices towards the end of the 1980s. However, conditions changed. Faced with the threat of inflation, the SNB had to raise interest rates sharply at the beginning of the 1990s. At the same time as mortgage rates went up, the economy weakened – and the value of real estate tumbled.

Protracted, serious consequences

As a consequence, many home owners and companies found themselves in trouble. Not only were they suddenly burdened with higher mortgage payments, but in some cases, banks demanded a further injection of capital, since the real estate – which serves as the banks’ collateral – was now worth less on the market. The result? Demand for real estate tapered off, and prices fell further. This substantial decline in real estate value also had serious repercussions for the banks. According to the Swiss Federal Banking Commission’s 1997 annual report, the banks had to write off almost 10% – about CHF 40 billion – of their credit volume between 1991 and 1996. The consequences of the real estate crisis were protracted and serious; a decade would pass before the Swiss economy recovered from below-average growth.

What if hiking interest rates is a no-go?


Higher monetary policy rates can contribute to alleviating the situation on the mortgage and real estate markets. Banks, in turn, pass on these higher rates to their customers by charging more interest on loans. The result is less demand for mortgages and more difficulties in financing real estate purchases. Sometimes, however, raising interest rates is not an option from a monetary policy perspective. For instance, when the Swiss franc is substantially overvalued, higher interest rates would cause further appreciation, with adverse effects for price stability and economic growth. Imbalances on the mortgage and real estate markets must therefore be tackled with other measures.

A different measure: the countercyclical capital buffer


A sectoral countercyclical capital buffer is currently activated in Switzerland. Banks are required to provide additional capital backing for a large portion of their mortgage loans. This bolsters their capital buffer and helps to counter excessive growth in lending.
Der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer
Picture: Keystone

The countercyclical capital buffer has been available to Swiss authorities since 2012. It can be activated, adjusted or deactivated by the Federal Council following a proposal by the SNB. The principle behind the currently activated sectoral countercyclical capital buffer (CCyB) is simple: when it is activated, banks must provide more capital backing for mortgage loans on residential real estate. This not only expands their capital buffer and strengthens their resilience in the event of crises, but it counteracts excessive lending by making mortgages more expensive and limiting the overall potential for lending.

CCyB currently activated

In response to a proposal by the SNB, the Federal Council activated the CCyB for the first time in February 2013. Accordingly, as of the end of September 2013, banks were obliged to hold additional capital amounting to 1% of their risk-weighted mortgage loans for residential property. In January 2014, again following a proposal by the SNB, the Federal Council increased the sectoral CCyB from 1% to 2%, with effect from the end of June 2014.

A preventive, temporary measure

The CCyB is intended as a precautionary measure, and should as such be activated in good time, i.e. before imbalances become critical and a crisis materialises. Furthermore, it is designed to be temporary – once imbalances have disappeared, the CCyB is deactivated and the banks can release the additional capital buffer.

The Federal Council and banks take further measures


In addition to the CCyB decisions, the Federal Council tightened capital requirements for mortgages with high loan-to-value ratios. And in fact, the banks themselves have, on several occasions, revised and tightened the so-called self-regulation. For example, borrowers must now make a down payment of at least 10% of the lending value out of their own funds, without recourse to their pension assets. Furthermore, the mortgage must be amortised down to two-thirds of the lending value of the property within fifteen years. These measures are also designed to reduce risks arising from developments on mortgage and real estate markets.

Im Fokus: Der Immobilienmarkt

Aufgrund des seit Ende 2008 vorherrschenden Tiefzinsumfelds sind Hypothekarkredite so günstig wie noch nie. Doch dies kann unerwartete Folgen haben: Die extrem tiefen Hypothekarzinsen können die Nachfrage nach Wohneigentum allzu stark anheizen – der Immobilienmarkt boomt. Solche Entwicklungen sind mit Risiken verbunden. Deshalb ist es wichtig, dass die Behörden vorsorglich Gegensteuer geben.

Bild: Keystone

Wenn Immobilienpreise stetig steigen


Die tiefen Zinsen ermöglichen vielen Menschen, ein Haus zu kaufen. Die Nachfrage steigt, die Immobilienpreise auch und die Hypothekarverschuldung ebenso – ist das gesund?
Immobilien blase

Die historisch tiefen Zinsen machen einen Hauskauf zurzeit äusserst attraktiv. Warum? Tiefe Zinsen bedeuten, dass die Menschen Kredite – also auch Hypothekarkredite – zu sehr tiefen Zinsen aufnehmen können. Wohneigentum wird im Vergleich zur Miete attraktiver. In einem solchen Tiefzinsumfeld können sich mehr Haushalte Immobilien leisten als bei höheren Zinsen. Auch gestiegene Einkommen, der Wunsch nach grösseren Wohnflächen, das Bevölkerungswachstum oder zu optimistische Erwartungen betreffend Immobilienwert können dazu beitragen, dass die Nachfrage nach Immobilien steigt. Für die stark gestiegene Nachfrage steht jedoch nicht sofort ein höheres Angebot zur Verfügung, die Immobilienpreise steigen.

Gerechtfertigt oder nicht?

Ob steigende Preise auf dem Immobilienmarkt durch Fundamentalfaktoren – zum Beispiel das Einkommens- oder Bevölkerungswachstum – gerechtfertigt sind oder nicht, ist nicht einfach zu beurteilen. Wenn die Immobilienpreise weit höher steigen, als durch Fundamentalfaktoren gerechtfertigt, wird eine solche Entwicklung häufig eine Preisblase genannt.

Warum sind Preisblasen gefährlich?

Erfahrungen in der Schweiz und im Ausland zeigen: Wenn sich auf dem Immobilienmarkt eine Blase bildet und diese irgendwann wieder platzt, ist meist eine längere Krise die Folge. Denn vom Platzen einer Blase sind sowohl Banken als auch Haushalte und die Wirtschaft insgesamt betroffen.

Nationalbank sieht Ungleichgewichte


In der Schweiz sind die Immobilienpreise und die Hypothekarkredite seit einigen Jahren stark gewachsen – um ein Vielfaches mehr als die jährliche Wirtschaftsleistung (BIP). Die Nationalbank spricht zwar nicht von einer Blase, sondern vielmehr von Ungleichgewichten auf diesen Märkten. Da sie gemäss Gesetz auch einen Beitrag zur Stabilität des Finanzsystems zu leisten hat, setzt sie sich dafür ein, dass vorsorgliche Massnahmen ergriffen werden. Diese sollen helfen, dem Aufbau von Ungleichgewichten entgegenzuwirken. Oder zumindest dafür sorgen, dass die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Bankensektors gestärkt wird, sodass eine allfällige Korrektur der Ungleichgewichte möglichst wenig Schaden verursacht.

Warum wird die Nationalbank aktiv?


Die Nationalbank hat einen Beitrag zur Stabilität des Finanzsystems zu leisten, so steht es im Gesetz. Wenn das Bankensystem zu hohe Risiken eingeht, weist die Nationalbank deshalb darauf hin und gibt frühzeitig Handlungsempfehlungen ab – über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle, wie zum Beispiel den Bericht zur Finanzstabilität. Ausser der Kommunikation verfügt die Nationalbank in diesem Bereich aber über keine Instrumente, die sie in eigener Regie anwenden kann. Vielmehr koordiniert sie sich mit den Bundesbehörden. Beim antizyklischen Kapitalpuffer zum Beispiel kann die Nationalbank dem Bundesrat einen Antrag auf Aktivierung, Anpassung oder Deaktivierung stellen.

Ungleichgewichte: Ein Risiko für die einzelnen Banken...


Banken spielen für den Immobilienmarkt eine grosse Rolle, denn sie vergeben Hypotheken. Dabei müssen sie abschätzen, wie sich der Wert der Immobilie über die nächsten Jahre entwickeln wird und ob der Kunde Zins- und Amortisationszahlungen leisten kann. Diese Risikoabschätzung ist mit grossen Unsicherheiten verbunden. In den vergangenen Jahren wurden die Risiken möglicherweise unterschätzt und Hypotheken an Haushalte vergeben, die bei einem Anstieg der Zinssätze Mühe haben könnten, ihre Zahlungen zu leisten. Besonders gefährlich wird es, wenn gleichzeitig mit einer Zinserhöhung die Immobilienpreise sinken. Wenn der Schuldner nicht mehr zahlungsfähig ist und sein Haus einen geringeren Wert hat als die Hypothek, führt dies zu Verlusten für die Bank.

... sowie für das Bankensystem und die Wirtschaft


Der Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt ist auch für das ganze Bankensystem sowie für die Schweizer Wirtschaft von Bedeutung. Denn zum einen sind viele Banken auf dem Hypothekarmarkt aktiv und wären möglicherweise von Problemen betroffen, die auf dem Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt auftreten. Zum anderen ist die gesamtschweizerische Verschuldung – gemessen am Verhältnis der Hypotheken zum BIP – im historischen Vergleich sehr hoch. Zudem macht das Immobilienvermögen bei vielen Hausbesitzern einen grossen Teil ihres Vermögens aus. Sollten die Zinsen nun steigen und der Immobilienmarkt sich stark abschwächen, wären daher nicht nur einzelne Banken betroffen, sondern das Bankensystem, die Haushalte und die gesamte Schweizer Wirtschaft.

Schmerzhafte Erfahrungen


Die Angst vor Übertreibungen kommt nicht von ungefähr: Anfang der 1990er-Jahre erlebte die Schweiz eine schwere Krise am Immobilienmarkt, mit langwierigen und schwerwiegenden Konsequenzen für die Gesamtwirtschaft.
Spar und Leikasse Thun
Bild: Keystone

Der Börsencrash von 1987 veranlasste die Zentralbanken weltweit, eine expansive Geldpolitik zu betreiben und das Zinsniveau tief zu halten. In der Schweiz trug dies dazu bei, dass die Häuserpreise gegen Ende der 1980er-Jahre ungewöhnlich stark anstiegen. Doch die Vorzeichen veränderten sich. Wegen drohender Inflation musste die Schweizerische Nationalbank Anfang der 1990er-Jahre die Zinsen recht stark erhöhen. Die Hypothekarzinsen stiegen, und gleichzeitig schwächte sich die Konjunktur ab. Immobilien verloren innert kurzer Zeit an Wert.

Langwierige und schwerwiegende Konsequenzen

Viele Hausbesitzer und Unternehmen kamen dadurch in Schwierigkeiten. Sie mussten auf einmal nicht nur höhere Hypothekarzinsen bezahlen, sondern teilweise bei der Bank auch Kapital nachschiessen, denn ihr Haus, das für die Bank als Sicherheit gilt, war nun auf dem Markt weniger wert. Die Folge: Die Nachfrage nach Immobilien nahm ab, und die Preise fielen weiter. Unter dem massiven Wertverlust der Immobilien litten auch die Banken. Von 1991 bis 1996 mussten sie fast 10% ihres Kreditvolumens oder rund 40 Mrd. Franken abschreiben, so die Bilanz gemäss Jahresbericht der Eidgenössischen Bankenkommission von 1997. Die Konsequenzen der Immobilienkrise waren langwierig und schwerwiegend: Es folgte ein Jahrzehnt, in dem die Schweizer Wirtschaft nur unterdurchschnittlich wuchs.

Zinserhöhung nicht immer möglich – was dann?


Höhere geldpolitische Zinsen könnten zur Entspannung am Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt beitragen. Eine Erhöhung dieser Zinsen würde dazu führen, dass auch Banken von ihren Kunden einen höheren Zins für Kredite verlangen. Das Resultat: Die Nachfrage nach Hypotheken würde gedämpft und die Finanzierung von Immobilienkäufen schwieriger. Doch eine Zinserhöhung ist manchmal aus geldpolitischen Gründen nicht möglich. In Zeiten eines deutlich überbewerteten Frankens würden höhere Zinsen zu einer weiteren Aufwertung unserer Währung führen, was einen negativen Effekt auf die Entwicklung der Preisstabilität und der Wirtschaft hätte. Die Ungleichgewichte auf dem Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt müssen also mit anderen Mitteln bekämpft werden.

Ein anderes Mittel: Der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer


Zurzeit ist in der Schweiz ein sektorieller antizyklischer Kapitalpuffer aktiviert. Banken müssen mehr Eigenmittel auf einem Grossteil ihrer Hypotheken halten. Damit wird ihr Kapitalpolster gestärkt und einem übermässigen Kreditwachstum entgegengewirkt.
Der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer
Bild: Keystone

Seit 2012 steht der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer in der Schweiz zur Verfügung. Auf Antrag der Nationalbank kann er vom Bundesrat aktiviert, angepasst oder deaktiviert werden. Das Prinzip des zurzeit aktivierten sektoriellen antizyklischen Kapitalpuffers (AZP) ist einfach: Bei einer Aktivierung werden die Banken verpflichtet, für jeden Hypothekarkredit für Wohnliegenschaften mehr Eigenmittel zu halten. Damit stärken sie erstens ihr Kapitalpolster und sind für den Krisenfall besser gerüstet. Zweitens kann der AZP einem übermässigen Kreditwachstum entgegenwirken, da er die Vergabe von Hypothekarkrediten teurer macht und die Möglichkeiten der Kreditvergabe einschränkt.

AZP zurzeit aktiviert

Auf Antrag der Nationalbank hat der Bundesrat den sektoriellen AZP im Februar 2013 erstmals aktiviert. Entsprechend mussten die Banken per Ende September 2013 zusätzliche Eigenmittel in Höhe von 1% der von ihnen vergebenen risikogewichteten Hypotheken für Wohnliegenschaften halten. Im Januar 2014 hat der Bundesrat den sektoriellen AZP auf Antrag der Nationalbank von 1% auf 2% erhöht: Seit Ende Juni 2014 müssen die Banken diese erhöhte Anforderung bezüglich ihrer Eigenmittel einhalten.

Präventiv und temporär

Der AZP ist als ein vorsorgliches Instrument konzipiert. Deshalb soll er frühzeitig, das heisst bevor die Ungleichgewichte ein kritisches Ausmass erreicht haben und vor Ausbruch einer potenziellen Krise, eingesetzt werden. Er wird ferner nur auf Zeit eingesetzt: Wenn keine Ungleichgewichte mehr vorhanden sind, wird er deaktiviert und das zusätzlich aufgebaute Kapitalpolster freigesetzt.

Bundesrat und Banken ergreifen weitere Massnahmen


Zusätzlich zu den AZP-Entscheiden hat der Bundesrat die Eigenmittelanforderungen für Hypothekarkredite mit hohem Belehnungsgrad verschärft. Die Banken wiederum haben die sogenannte Selbstregulierung verschiedentlich revidiert und verschärft. So müssen Kreditnehmer nun unter anderem mindestens 10% des Belehnungswertes der Immobilie aus eigenen Mitteln finanzieren, die nicht aus der Pensionskasse stammen. Zudem muss die Hypothekarschuld innert 15 Jahren auf zwei Drittel des Belehnungswertes der Immobilie amortisiert werden. Auch diese Massnahmen bezwecken, die mit den Entwicklungen am Hypothekar- und Immobilienmarkt verbundenen Risiken zu reduzieren.