Implementation of monetary policy

The SNB can deploy various instruments to ensure price stability in our country. It uses these to implement its monetary policy – a complex task that is subject to many uncertainties. The SNB has to adjust its policy continuously to economic and monetary conditions. Occasionally it also has to enter uncharted waters, particularly when conventional instruments have been exhausted.

The SNB’s monetary policy instruments


  • Aufmacher 01

    The SNB uses different liquidity-providing and liquidity-absorbing instruments to implement its monetary policy.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Through liquidity-providing operations, the SNB supplies the banking system with more liquidity.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Through liquidity-absorbing operations, the SNB reduces the liquidity in the banking system.

Implementation of monetary policy


The SNB policy rate is the key instrument used by the SNB to implement its monetary policy.

The SNB implements its monetary policy by setting the SNB policy rate. In so doing, it seeks to keep the secured short-term Swiss franc money market rates close to the SNB policy rate. The most representative of these money market rates today is SARON.

In addition to steering interest rates via its policy rate, the SNB also has other ways of implementing monetary policy. In particular, it can intervene in the foreign exchange market as necessary, buying or selling Swiss francs against foreign currencies.

Repo transactions

Repo transactions are one of the key instruments that the SNB uses to implement monetary policy. In a repo transaction, the cash provider buys securities from the cash taker. The countervalue is credited to the cash taker’s sight deposit account. Simultaneously, the parties enter into an agreement whereby the cash taker buys back the securities at a later date. The cash taker thus receives a short-term Swiss franc loan from the cash provider for the term of the transaction on which it pays interest at the repo rate. The cash provider receives collateral in the form of securities. The SNB may operate on the repo market both as cash taker and cash provider. In addition to repo transactions, the SNB also has other instruments for implementing monetary policy.

Interest rate environment

The SNB defines how much money it wishes to make available to the banks, at what price (repo rate) and for how long, thereby influencing interest rates within the economy. The size of these repo transactions determines how much money (or ‘liquidity’) the banks receive from the SNB.

Why SARON tracks the SNB policy rate


When the SNB changes its policy rate, SARON adjusts in line with the change. Why? Only the SNB is able to steer Swiss franc liquidity, and therefore it alone can define the price (i.e. interest) charged for this liquidity. The interest rate terms for monetary policy instruments are based on the SNB policy rate. The interest on sight deposits currently corresponds to the SNB policy rate, for example. In this way the SNB makes sure, when implementing its monetary policy, that the secured short-term money market rates are close to the SNB policy rate.

However, the effect of the SNB policy rate described above is not limited to SARON, as the banks also adjust the interest they charge on loans to companies and private individuals (e.g. mortgages).

Sample scenario: the SNB raises interest rates

Let us assume the SNB’s inflation forecast points to a sharp rise in inflation. What action should be taken? In order to counteract the threat of inflation, the SNB tightens its monetary policy. It announces that it is raising the SNB policy rate. The banks consequently raise their own lending rates. Companies and households, in turn, take out fewer (now more expensive) loans, which reins in demand for goods and services. Companies cut back production. As they are no longer able to sell their products as well as previously, firms refrain from further price increases.

The impact of the exchange rate

Any such tightening also engenders effects via the exchange rate: when interest rates are higher, the Swiss franc appreciates. Imports become cheaper, which has a direct dampening effect on inflation. Exports, on the other hand, become more expensive and foreign demand for Swiss goods declines; this indirectly dampens inflation. The SNB thus achieves its objective in that the risk of inflation is warded off.

When repos absorb liquidity


Repo transactions can be used not just to increase, but also to decrease liquidity at banks. Liquidity-absorbing repos work like liquidity-providing repos, just in reverse. The SNB sells securities to a bank at a defined price and the parties simultaneously agree that the SNB will buy back the securities at the end of the contract term – at a higher price. The difference between the repurchase price and the sale price is the interest (or repo) rate that the SNB pays the commercial bank.

How the SNB reduces liquidity in the banking system

Monetary aggregates


The monetary base M0 is composed of banknotes in circulation and domestic banks’ sight deposits with the SNB. M1 includes money that can readily be used to make payments at any time: cash in circulation and Swiss franc-denominated sight deposits at commercial banks. M2 is comprised of M1 plus Swiss franc-denominated savings deposits. M3 is made up of the M2 monetary aggregate plus Swiss franc-denominated time deposits. The monetary base is the only monetary aggregate the SNB can steer directly; it influences the others indirectly through its monetary policy.

Picture: Keystone

How the financial crisis materialised


It began in August 2007 when the real estate bubble in the US burst. With the collapse of the US investment bank Lehman Brothers in September 2008, a financial crisis the like of which the world had never seen was unleashed.

Lehman Brothers
Picture: Keystone

The SNB’s rapid, comprehensive reaction


The SNB, along with other central banks, reacted quickly and comprehensively. It lowered the target range for the reference interest rate in several increments and provided the banking system with ample liquidity. At the same time, the SNB collaborated with the Confederation in putting together a package of measures to support the beleaguered UBS. It created the so-called StabFund and granted this entity a loan. The StabFund then took over UBS assets that the market had suddenly turned its back on. These measures allowed UBS to stabilise its finances and buttressed the Swiss finance industry as a whole. In 2013 the SNB successfully closed the StabFund chapter.

Economic downturn and euro crisis: what followed


The financial crisis led first to a severe downturn in the global economy, then, in 2010, to the debt crisis in the euro area. The SNB reacted with a range of exceptional measures aimed in particular at the strength of the Swiss franc, which had appreciated substantially as a result of the euro crisis, thereby bringing deflationary risks with it. It lowered the target range to zero, flooded the banking system with liquidity and purchased foreign currencies against Swiss francs. On 6 September 2011, the SNB set a minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro. Until 15 January 2015, the minimum exchange rate stood at the centre of monetary policy and the SNB enforced it with the utmost determination.

No inflation risk for the foreseeable future


The monetary base increased more than tenfold between 2007 and 2018. Despite this, the SNB’s inflation forecast indicates that there are no inflation risks for Switzerland in the foreseeable future.

Inflationsprognose

When interest rates go below zero


On 18 December 2014, the SNB announced it was introducing negative interest rates. This move was designed to make Swiss-franc investments less attractive and thereby support the minimum exchange rate. On 15 January 2015, the SNB discontinued the minimum exchange rate. In order to counter undue tightening of monetary policy, the SNB simultaneously took interest rates even deeper into negative territory and announced its intention to remain active in the foreign exchange market, as necessary.

Steering interest rates in a new environment

The interest rate on sight deposits with the SNB has since remained at –0.75% and is thus the same as the SNB policy rate. The introduction of negative interest rates had fundamentally the same effect as an interest rate cut in positive territory. Interest rates in Switzerland generally declined across the board.

When the interest rate differential is too small

Thanks to negative interest rates, the SNB has managed to ensure that Switzerland’s interest rate level is once again below that of other countries. If, for example, interest rates in the euro area fall, but the Swiss franc interest rate stays at zero, the interest rate differential between the Swiss franc and the (typically higher-interest) euro diminishes. This makes Swiss franc investments more attractive than investments in euros. Demand for Swiss francs thus increases and the currency strengthens.

Negative interest widens interest differential

Negative interest helps to once more widen the interest rate differential with other currencies. When investments in Swiss francs earn less interest than in other currencies, they are less attractive. The negative interest rate thus helps to ease demand for the Swiss franc, and should contribute to a weakening of the currency.

High monetary base = large balance sheet


The increase in the monetary base also has implications for the SNB’s balance sheet. The balance sheet total was approximately CHF 100 billion before the crisis; at the end of 2016, it stood at CHF 747 billion. This state of affairs presents risks for the SNB’s annual financial statements because, as recent years have clearly shown, the result may fluctuate substantially due to exchange rate movements. But the SNB’s balance sheet is ultimately dictated by monetary policy. The fact that it has expanded to its current size is a consequence of monetary policy measures that are necessary in order to ensure price stability.

So wird die Geldpolitik umgesetzt

Um in unserem Land Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten, kann die Nationalbank verschiedene Instrumente einsetzen. Mit ihnen führt sie die Geldpolitik – eine komplexe Aufgabe, die mit vielen Unsicherheiten behaftet ist. Die Nationalbank muss ihre Geldpolitik immer wieder der wirtschaftlichen und monetären Lage anpassen. Sie muss manchmal auch neue Wege beschreiten, vor allem wenn die herkömmlichen Instrumente an ihre Grenzen stossen.

Die geldpolitischen Instrumente der Nationalbank


  • Aufmacher 01

    Die Nationalbank verwendet verschiedene liquiditätszuführende und -abschöpfende Instrumente, um ihre Geldpolitik umzusetzen.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Mit liquiditätszuführenden Geschäften stellt die Nationalbank dem Bankensystem mehr Liquidität zur Verfügung.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Mit liquiditätsabschöpfenden Geschäften reduziert die Nationalbank die Liquidität im Bankensystem.

Umsetzung der Geldpolitik


Umsetzung der Geldpolitik Die Nationalbank setzt die Geldpolitik vor allem über den SNB-Leitzins um.

Die Nationalbank setzt ihre Geldpolitik um, indem sie den SNB-Leitzins festlegt. Dabei strebt die Nationalbank an, die besicherten kurzfristigen Geldmarktsätze in Franken nahe am SNB-Leitzins zu halten. Der aussagekräftigste dieser Geldmarktsätze ist der SARON.

Neben der Steuerung der Zinsen über den SNB-Leitzins hat die Zentralbank auch andere Möglichkeiten, die Geldpolitik umzusetzen. Sie kann insbesondere bei Bedarf am Devisenmarkt aktiv sein, also Franken gegen Fremdwährung verkaufen oder kaufen.

Das Repogeschäft

Ein wichtiges Instrument der Nationalbank zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik ist das Repogeschäft. Bei einem Repogeschäft kauft der Geldgeber vom Geldnehmer Wertpapiere. Der Betrag wird auf dem Girokonto des Geldnehmers gutgeschrieben. Gleichzeitig wird vereinbart, dass die Wertpapiere zu einem späteren Zeitpunkt durch den Geldnehmer wieder zurückgekauft werden. Der Geldnehmer erhält vom Geldgeber während der Laufzeit des Geschäfts somit einen kurzfristigen Frankenkredit, für den der Geldnehmer den Reposatz bezahlt. Der Geldgeber erhält Wertschriften als Sicherheit. Die Nationalbank kann als Geldnehmer und Geldgeber am Repomarkt auftreten. Nebst dem Repogeschäft verfügt die SNB über weitere Instrumente zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik.

Zinsumfeld der Wirtschaft

Die Nationalbank legt fest, wie viel Geld sie den Banken zu welchem Preis – dem Reposatz – und wie lange zur Verfügung stellt, und steuert so das Zinsumfeld der Wirtschaft. Über den Umfang dieser Repogeschäfte bestimmt die Nationalbank, wie viel Geld die Banken von ihr erhalten. Man spricht in diesem Zusammenhang auch von der Liquidität, welche die Nationalbank den Banken zur Verfügung stellt.

Warum der SARON dem SNB-Leitzins folgt


Wenn die Nationalbank den SNB-Leitzins verändert, passt sich der SARON dieser Bewegung an. Warum? Einzig die Nationalbank kann Liquidität in Franken steuern. Daher kann nur sie den Preis bzw. den Zins für diese Liquidität festlegen. Die Zinskonditionen geldpolitischer Instrumente orientieren sich am SNB-Leitzins. So werden gegenwärtig die Giroguthaben zum SNB-Leitzins verzinst. Bei der Umsetzung ihrer Geldpolitik stellt die Nationalbank dadurch sicher, dass die besicherten kurzfristigen Geldmarktsätze in der Nähe des SNB-Leitzinses liegen.

Die oben beschriebene Wirkung des SNB-Leitzinses bleibt nicht beim SARON stehen. Denn die Banken passen die Zinsen, die sie für ihre Kredite an Unternehmen und Privatpersonen – zum Beispiel für Hypotheken – verlangen, ebenfalls an.

Zur Illustration: Nationalbank hebt Zinsen an

Nehmen wir an, die Inflationsprognose der Nationalbank zeigt an, dass die Teuerungsrate deutlich steigen wird. Was ist zu tun? Um die Inflationsgefahren zu bekämpfen, strafft die Nationalbank ihre Geldpolitik. Sie gibt bekannt, dass sie den SNB-Leitzins anhebt. Die Banken passen in der Folge ihre Kreditzinsen nach oben an. Die Unternehmen und Haushalte wiederum nehmen weniger der teureren Kredite auf, was zu einer Drosselung der Nachfrage nach Waren und Dienstleistungen führt. Die Unternehmen verlangsamen ihre Produktion. Da sie ihre Produkte nicht mehr so gut absetzen können wie zuvor, sehen sie von weiteren Preiserhöhungen ab.

Der Einfluss des Wechselkurses

Einen weiteren Effekt gibt es über den Wechselkurs: Wenn die Zinssätze höher sind, wertet sich der Franken auf. Dadurch werden die Importe billiger, was direkt eine dämpfende Wirkung auf die Teuerung hat. Dagegen werden die Exporte teurer, und die Nachfrage nach schweizerischen Gütern aus dem Ausland geht zurück, was indirekt eine dämpfende Wirkung auf die Teuerung hat. Damit hat die Nationalbank ihr Ziel erreicht: Die Inflationsgefahr ist gebannt.

Wenn Repos Liquidität abschöpfen


Mit Repogeschäften kann die Liquidität bei Banken nicht nur erhöht, sondern auch verringert werden. Solche liquiditätsabschöpfenden Repos funktionieren wie liquiditätszuführende Repos – einfach umgekehrt: Die Nationalbank verkauft einer Bank Wertpapiere zu einem bestimmten Preis. Gleichzeitig wird vereinbart, dass die Nationalbank diese Wertpapiere am Ende der Laufzeit zurückkauft – zu einem höheren Preis. Die Differenz zwischen dem Rückkauf- und dem Verkaufspreis ist der Zins, den die Nationalbank der Bank bezahlt – der Reposatz.

Wie die Nationalbank die Liquidität im Bankensystem reduziert

Über die Geldmengen


Die Notenbankgeldmenge M0 setzt sich aus dem Notenumlauf und den Sichtguthaben der inländischen Banken bei der Nationalbank, auch Giroguthaben genannt, zusammen. M1 umfasst das Geld, das jederzeit als Zahlungsmittel eingesetzt werden kann: das umlaufende Bargeld und die auf Franken lautenden Sichteinlagen bei den Banken. M2 besteht aus M1 sowie aus den Spareinlagen in Franken. M3 besteht aus der Geldmenge M2 und zusätzlich aus den Termineinlagen in Franken. Die Nationalbank kann nur die Notenbankgeldmenge direkt steuern, die anderen Geldmengen beeinflusst sie indirekt durch ihre Geldpolitik.

Bild: Keystone

Die Finanzkrise: Wie alles begann


Es begann im August 2007, als in den USA die Immobilienblase platzte. Mit dem Zusammenbruch der US-Investmentbank Lehman Brothers im September 2008 kam es zu einer Finanzkrise, wie die Welt sie noch nie gesehen hatte.

Lehman Brothers
Bild: Keystone

Nationalbank reagierte rasch und umfassend


Wie andere Zentralbanken reagierte auch die Nationalbank rasch und umfassend: Sie senkte das Zielband für den Referenzzinssatz in mehreren Schritten und stellte dem Bankensystem reichlich Geld zur Verfügung. Gleichzeitig schnürte sie zusammen mit dem Bund ein Massnahmenpaket für die in Bedrängnis geratene UBS. Sie schuf dafür den sogenannten StabFund und gewährte diesem ein Darlehen. Der StabFund übernahm von der UBS Aktiven, für die es plötzlich keinen Markt mehr gab. So konnte die Bank ihre Finanzlage stabilisieren, wodurch auch der Schweizer Finanzplatz gestärkt wurde. Im Jahr 2013 konnte die Nationalbank das Kapitel StabFund erfolgreich abschliessen.

Konjunktureinbruch und Eurokrise: Was folgte


Die Finanzkrise führte zuerst zu einem weltweiten Konjunktureinbruch, 2010 brach die Schuldenkrise in der Eurozone aus. Die Nationalbank reagierte mit verschiedensten ausserordentlichen Massnahmen, insbesondere auf die Frankenstärke, die aufgrund der Eurokrise ein massives Ausmass annahm und deflationäre Risiken mit sich brachte. So senkte sie das Zielband bis an die Nullgrenze, schwemmte das Bankensystem mit Liquidität und kaufte Fremdwährungen gegen Franken. Am 6. September 2011 legte die Nationalbank einen Mindestkurs von 1.20 Franken pro Euro fest. Bis am 15. Januar 2015 stand der Mindestkurs im Zentrum der Umsetzung der Geldpolitik, die Nationalbank setzte ihn mit aller Konsequenz durch.

Auf absehbare Zeit: Keine Inflationsgefahren


Die Notenbankgeldmenge hat sich zwischen 2007 und 2018 mehr als verzehnfacht. Trotzdem zeigt die Inflationsprognose der Nationalbank auf absehbare Zeit keine Inflationsgefahren für die Schweiz an.

Inflationsprognose
Quellen: BFS, SNB

Wenn die Zinsen unter null gehen


Am 18. Dezember 2014 kündigte die Nationalbank Negativzinsen an. Damit sollten Frankenanlagen weniger attraktiv gemacht und so der Mindestkurs unterstützt werden. Am 15. Januar 2015 hob die Nationalbank den Mindestkurs auf. Um einer unangemessenen Straffung der Geldpolitik entgegenzuwirken, senkte sie gleichzeitig die Zinsen noch deutlicher in den negativen Bereich und erklärte, dass sie bei Bedarf auch künftig am Devisenmarkt aktiv bleibt.

Zinssteuerung in verändertem Umfeld

Der Zins auf Sichteinlagen bei der Nationalbank beträgt seither −0,75% und liegt somit beim SNB-Leitzins. Die Einführung von Negativzinsen hatte grundsätzlich dieselbe Wirkung wie eine Zinssenkung im positiven Bereich. Die meisten Zinsen in der Schweiz sanken auf breiter Front.

Wenn die Zinsdifferenz zu klein ist

Damit hat die Nationalbank dafür gesorgt, dass das Zinsniveau in der Schweiz wieder tiefer ist als in anderen Ländern. Denn wenn die Zinsen zum Beispiel in der Eurozone sinken, aber der Frankenzins bei null verharrt, verkleinert sich die Zinsdifferenz zwischen dem Franken und dem üblicherweise höher verzinsten Euro. Als Folge davon werden Frankenanlagen im Vergleich zu Anlagen in Euro attraktiver. Das erhöht die Nachfrage nach Franken, und er wertet sich auf.

Negativzinsen weiten Zinsdifferenz aus

Die Negativzinsen helfen, die Zinsdifferenz zu anderen Währungen wieder auszuweiten. Wenn Anlagen in Franken weniger Zinsen abwerfen als in anderen Währungen, sind sie weniger attraktiv. Negativzinsen dienen deshalb dazu, die Nachfrage nach Franken zu reduzieren, und sollten zu einer Abschwächung des Frankens beitragen.

Hohe Notenbankgeldmenge heisst grosse Bilanz


Die Zunahme der Notenbankgeldmenge widerspiegelt sich auch in der Bilanz der Nationalbank. Betrug die Bilanzsumme vor der Finanzkrise noch ungefähr 100 Mrd. Franken, belief sie sich Ende 2016 auf 747 Mrd. Franken. Das birgt Risiken für die Jahresrechnung der Nationalbank, da das Ergebnis aufgrund von Wechselkursbewegungen stark schwanken kann. Das haben die vergangenen Jahre deutlich gezeigt. Doch steht die Bilanz der Nationalbank ganz im Dienst der Geldpolitik. Deren heutige Grösse ist das Ergebnis der geldpolitischen Massnahmen, die notwendig sind, um Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten.