This is the National Bank

The SNB is an institution with many distinctive features. It is a joint-stock company with a public mandate. It is independent in the fulfilment of this mandate, while being administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation. It is a bank, but only for very special customers. The SNB is an institution that’s worth getting to know.

Who’s in charge at the SNB?


  • Aufmacher 01

    The SNB conducts its monetary policy as an independent central bank in the interests of Switzerland as a whole. This is its mandate. The body solely responsible for monetary policy is the Governing Board, comprising the Chairman, Vice Chairman and Member.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Monetary policy has a substantial influence on the Swiss economy, and the SNB is therefore continually faced with a broad range of demands.

  • Aufmacher 03

    The SNB takes these demands, and the discussions they provoke, seriously. Nonetheless, it formulates its monetary policy independently. This independence is critically important to the fulfilment of its mandate.

  • Aufmacher 04

    This independence only extends to the fulfilment of the SNB’s mandate, which is laid down in the Federal Constitution and the National Bank Act.

  • Aufmacher 05

    An accountability report detailing how the SNB has fulfilled its duties must regularly be presented to parliament and the public.

  • Aufmacher 06

    The SNB is closely supervised – the Federal Council has a participatory role and oversight function, and the Bank Council oversees business conduct to ensure compliance with legislation.

  • Aufmacher 07

    The SNB’s shareholders – mainly cantons and cantonal banks – have a say too, although they have fewer rights and powers than their counterparts in other joint-stock companies.

What does the SNB do?


The SNB’s statutory mandate is to ensure price stability while taking due account of the economy. Within the scope of this mandate, it pursues a broad range of activities – both in Switzerland and abroad.
Aufgaben der SNB

In conducting the country’s monetary policy, the SNB’s primary goal is to ensure price stability while taking due account of economic developments – as stipulated in law. In other words, the SNB’s job is to make sure that money retains its value and that the Swiss economy develops appropriately.

Banknotes, payment transactions, financial system

Other important tasks of the SNB include the issuance of banknotes and coins, as well as the oversight of cashless payment transactions. The SNB also acts as banker to the Confederation, settling payments, issuing bonds and managing securities on its behalf. Finally, the SNB works closely with the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) to ensure the stability of the Swiss financial system.

International cooperation

The SNB is active not only in Switzerland, but also – mostly in conjunction with the Federal authorities – in international organisations like the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Financial Stability Board (FSB), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) and the Bank for International Settlements (BIS).

A unique institution


In some respects, the SNB is a company like any other. However, certain features make it unique. The SNB is the sole institution in Switzerland with the right to issue banknotes; as the country’s central bank, it alone manages the national supply of money. A further special feature is its legal form, which is that of a special-statute joint-stock company – its shares are traded on the stock exchange. However, its organisation, supervision and shareholder rights are governed by a special act, the National Bank Act.

The banks’ bank

Aside from being banker to the Confederation, the SNB is also the banks’ bank, i.e. its business is focused on banks in Switzerland and other financial market participants. It doesn’t offer banking services to private or retail clients.

The SNB’s Governing Board


The SNB’s supreme management and executive body is the Governing Board, comprising the Chairman, Vice Chairman and Member. The Governing Board alone is responsible for monetary policy.

Das Direktorium der Nationalbank

The Bank Council – no board of directors


The SNB’s supervisory body is the Bank Council. It monitors and controls the SNB’s business conduct and lays down the fundamental elements of its organisation. It approves the budget and the level of provisions for currency reserves, handles oversight of risk management activities and the investment process, and is responsible for deciding on the design of banknotes. However, the Bank Council differs from a conventional corporate board of directors in a number of ways. It has no say in the SNB’s monetary policy, which is solely the responsibility of the Governing Board. In addition, the SNB’s executive management, the Enlarged Governing Board, is appointed not by the Bank Council, but by the Federal Council – although the Bank Council proposes candidates for election.

Picture: Keystone

Where monetary policy and business meet


The General Meeting of Shareholders takes place every April in Berne. On this occasion, the Governing Board and the Bank Council meet with shareholders and business representatives. The meeting is chaired by the President of the Bank Council.

The role of the shareholders


While the majority of SNB shares are held by the cantons and cantonal banks, private individuals and companies can also own shares. However, given the special nature of the SNB’s mandate, shareholder rights are limited: voting rights of private shareholders are restricted to 100 shares, regardless of the number of shares held, and dividends may not exceed CHF 15 per share. Furthermore, the SNB’s business report and annual financial statements must be approved by the Federal Council, before being submitted to the General Meeting of Shareholders. Despite all these restrictions, the institution’s shareholders are an important symbol of how the SNB is anchored in the nation, and of its independence.

The SNB is independent


The SNB conducts its monetary policy as an independent central bank in the interests of Switzerland as a whole. It therefore may not accept any instruction on monetary policy, nor grant loans to the Confederation.
Die Nationalbank ist unabhängig

As stipulated in the Constitution, in reaching its monetary policy decisions, the SNB must always place the interests of the country as a whole first. The SNB is not allowed to seek or accept instruction from any quarter – be it state, business, political parties or the media. Monetary policy decisions are taken solely by the Governing Board.

Significance of independence

Why is independence so important? In hard times, a central bank that is independent is better placed to take unpopular decisions – decisions that may hurt in the immediate aftermath, but that are ultimately beneficial to the economy in the medium or long term. This independence ensures that the central bank has a much greater chance of maintaining price stability and fostering a healthy economy. Indeed, most countries acknowledge that only an independent central bank can fulfil its mandate effectively.

Independent but accountable

This is not to say that the SNB can do as it pleases. First, its independence only extends to the fulfilment of its public mandate. Second, an accountability report detailing how the SNB has carried out its duties must regularly be presented to parliament and the public. The SNB also regularly meets with the Federal Council to discuss topical economic developments.

Home to the SNB


The SNB has head offices in Berne and Zurich. It also maintains offices for regional economic relations throughout Switzerland, and since 2013 has a branch office in Singapore.
Hier ist die Nationalbank zu Hause
Picture: Keystone

Since its foundation more than 100 years ago, the SNB has maintained head offices both in Berne, the capital, and in Zurich, the country’s financial hub. It is divided into three departments. Department I is responsible for preparing the material required for the monetary policy decisions. Department II is in charge of issuing banknotes and ensuring the stability of the financial system. And Department III implements SNB monetary policy in the financial markets. Departments I and III are primarily in Zurich, and Department II is mainly in Berne. The Governing Board is responsible for the SNB’s management. Each of its three members – and their deputies – heads one of the three departments.

Finger on the pulse

In order to foster an ongoing exchange of information with businesses and the public, aside from its head offices in Berne and Zurich, the SNB maintains representative offices in Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lucerne, Lugano and St Gallen. Each of these eight regions is attended to by its own delegate, who keeps a finger on the economic pulse by regularly carrying out surveys with the companies falling within their remit. The delegates also act as ambassadors to the SNB, by disseminating information in their regions on its monetary policy.

What does the SNB do in Singapore?

In 2013, the SNB opened a branch office in Singapore – the first time that the institution had established a presence abroad. The Singapore office employs less than ten staff. The step was taken mainly to improve management of its investments in the currencies of the Far East. This move also makes it possible for the SNB to monitor the foreign exchange market round the clock.

Working at the SNB


Most of the roughly 900 staff are employed at the Zurich and Berne offices, with about 650 at the former and over 200 at the latter, and the remainder distributed across the representative offices and the branch office in Singapore. While there is no typical SNB education, staff expertise lies mainly in the fields of economics, banking, finance, IT and logistics. However, staff also hail from any number of other professional backgrounds – and together comprise a highly diverse mix.

The most liquid bank in Switzerland


The SNB’s banknote-issuing privilege means that it can never become insolvent. As the creator of legal tender, it is, as it were, the source of money, and thus will always have the resources to meet its debts in Swiss francs. Furthermore, over time the banknote-issuing privilege yields profit. However, the SNB’s mandate is not to generate profits, but to maintain price stability. To ensure that it can fulfil this mandate in the long term, it continually strives to bolster its capital base. To this end, a portion of the SNB’s profits are always allocated to the provisions for currency reserves – as stipulated by the National Bank Act.

The SNB balance sheet at year-end 2018

The SNB balance sheet at year-end 2018

Das ist die Nationalbank

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank ist ein Unternehmen mit vielen Besonderheiten: eine Aktiengesellschaft mit öffentlichem Auftrag; unabhängig bei der Erfüllung dieses Auftrags, jedoch unter Mitwirkung und Aufsicht des Bundes verwaltet; eine Bank, aber nur für ganz spezielle Kunden. Die Nationalbank ist eine Institution, die es wert ist, sie etwas besser kennenzulernen.

Wer bei der Nationalbank was zu sagen hat


  • Aufmacher 01

    Die Nationalbank führt als unabhängige Zentralbank die Geldpolitik im Gesamtinteresse der Schweiz. Das ist ihr Auftrag. Zuständig für die Geldpolitik ist allein das Direktorium, das aus einem Präsidenten, einem Vizepräsidenten und einem drittem Mitglied besteht.

  • Aufmacher 02

    Die Geldpolitik hat einen grossen Einfluss auf die Schweizer Wirtschaft. Daher werden immer wieder verschiedenste Forderungen an die Nationalbank gerichtet.

  • Aufmacher 03

    Die Nationalbank nimmt diese Forderungen und Diskussionsbeiträge ernst. Sie trifft ihre Entscheidungen jedoch unabhängig, was zentral ist für die Erfüllung ihres Auftrags.

  • Aufmacher 04

    Die Unabhängigkeit ist klar mit dem Auftrag der Nationalbank verknüpft, der in Bundesverfassung und Nationalbankgesetz verankert ist.

  • Aufmacher 05

    Gegenüber dem Parlament und der Öffentlichkeit legt die Nationalbank regelmässig Rechenschaft darüber ab, wie sie ihren Auftrag erfüllt.

  • Aufmacher 06

    Auch wird sie genau beobachtet: Der Bundesrat hat eine Mitwirkungs- und Aufsichtsfunktion, der Bankrat überwacht die Geschäftsführung im Hinblick auf die Einhaltung des Gesetzes.

  • Aufmacher 07

    Und die Aktionäre – vor allem Kantone und Kantonalbanken – haben ebenfalls mitzureden. Ihre Rechte und Befugnisse gehen allerdings weniger weit als bei anderen Aktiengesellschaften.

Was macht die Nationalbank?


Der gesetzliche Auftrag der Nationalbank ist die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität unter Berücksichtigung der Konjunktur. Im Rahmen dieses Auftrags engagiert sie sich sehr vielseitig – in der Schweiz und auf internationaler Ebene.
Aufgaben der SNB

Das höchste Ziel der Nationalbank ist Preisstabilität – wobei sie der konjunkturellen Entwicklung Rechnung trägt –, ihre wichtigste Aufgabe das Führen der Geldpolitik in der Schweiz. So ist es gesetzlich vorgeschrieben. Das heisst, die Nationalbank kümmert sich darum, dass das Geld seinen Wert behält und sich die Volkswirtschaft angemessen entwickelt.

Banknoten, Zahlungsverkehr, Finanzsystem

Weitere wichtige Aufgaben der Nationalbank sind die Ausgabe von Banknoten und Münzen sowie das Sicherstellen des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs. Die Nationalbank wirkt zudem als Bank des Bundes, indem sie für die Eidgenossenschaft Zahlungen abwickelt, Anleihen ausgibt und Wertpapiere verwaltet. Und schliesslich ist die Nationalbank für die Stabilität des schweizerischen Finanzsystems mitverantwortlich. Sie arbeitet dabei mit dem Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) und der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) zusammen.

Internationale Zusammenarbeit

Die Nationalbank ist aber nicht nur in der Schweiz tätig, sondern arbeitet – meist zusammen mit den Bundesbehörden – in verschiedenen internationalen Organisationen mit: im Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF), im Financial Stability Board (FSB), in der Organisation für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (OECD) und bei der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich (BIZ).

Ein einzigartiges Unternehmen


Die Nationalbank ist in vielem ein Unternehmen wie andere auch. Doch einige Merkmale machen sie speziell. Da wäre zum Beispiel das gesetzlich verankerte Notenmonopol: Es berechtigt die Nationalbank als einzige Institution in der Schweiz dazu, Banknoten herauszugeben – deshalb nennt man sie auch «Notenbank». Oder «Zentralbank», weil sie als einzige, zentrale Stelle die Geldversorgung des Landes steuert. Eine weitere Eigenheit der Nationalbank ist die Rechtsform: Sie ist eine «spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft». Ihre Aktien werden an der Börse gehandelt. Jedoch sind die Organisation, die Aufsicht oder auch die Rechte der Aktionäre der Nationalbank in einem speziellen Gesetz geregelt: im Nationalbankgesetz.

Die Bank der Banken

Die Nationalbank ist die Bank des Bundes und gleichzeitig die Bank der Banken: Das heisst, ihre Geschäftsbeziehungen unterhält sie in erster Linie mit den Banken in der Schweiz sowie mit anderen Finanzmarktteilnehmern. Für Privatpersonen und andere Unternehmen erbringt sie keine Bankdienstleistungen.

Das Direktorium der Nationalbank


Das oberste geschäftsleitende und ausführende Organ der Nationalbank ist das Direktorium. Es besteht aus einem Präsidenten, einem Vizepräsidenten und einem dritten Mitglied. Das Direktorium ist alleine zuständig für die Geld- und Währungspolitik.

Das Direktorium der Nationalbank

Der Bankrat – kein Verwaltungsrat


Der Bankrat ist das Aufsichtsgremium der Nationalbank: Er beaufsichtigt und kontrolliert, ob die Geschäfte korrekt geführt werden, und legt die Organisation der Bank in ihren Grundzügen fest. Er genehmigt das Budget und die Höhe der Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven, beurteilt das Risikomanagement und den Anlageprozess und entscheidet über die Gestaltung der Banknoten. Jedoch ist der Bankrat nicht wie der Verwaltungsrat einer normalen Aktiengesellschaft. So hat er keinerlei Mitsprache bei der Geldpolitik, dafür ist allein das Direktorium zuständig. Zudem wird die Geschäftsführung der Nationalbank, das Erweiterte Direktorium, nicht vom Bankrat gewählt, sondern vom Bundesrat – der Bankrat stellt dem Bundesrat aber den Antrag für die Wahl.

Bild: Keystone

Rendez-vous von Politik und Wirtschaft


Jeweils im April findet die Generalversammlung (GV) der Nationalbank in Bern statt. Dort treffen sich Direktorium und Bankrat mit den Aktionären sowie mit Vertretern der Wirtschaft. Geleitet wird die GV vom Präsidenten des Bankrats.

Die Rolle der Aktionäre


Die Mehrheit der Aktien der Nationalbank ist in den Händen der Kantone und Kantonalbanken, doch auch Private und Unternehmen können Nationalbank-Aktien halten. Die Rechte der Aktionäre sind eingeschränkt, weil die Nationalbank spezielle Aufgaben hat. So ist das Stimmrecht privater Aktionäre auf 100 Stimmen beschränkt und die Dividende auf höchstens 15 Franken pro Aktie begrenzt. Weiter müssen Jahresbericht und Jahresrechnung vom Bundesrat genehmigt werden, bevor sie der GV vorgelegt werden. Trotz all dieser Beschränkungen kommt den Aktionären der Nationalbank eine wichtige Symbolfunktion zu: Sie zeigen, dass die Nationalbank in der Bevölkerung verankert ist, und sind Ausdruck der Unabhängigkeit der Nationalbank.

Die Nationalbank ist unabhängig


Die Nationalbank führt die Geldpolitik als unabhängige Zentralbank im Gesamtinteresse der Schweiz. So darf sie keinerlei Weisungen für ihre Geldpolitik entgegennehmen und dem Bund keine Kredite gewähren.
Die Nationalbank ist unabhängig

Bei allen geldpolitischen Entscheiden muss sich die Nationalbank das Gesamtinteresse des Landes vor Augen halten. Das steht in der Verfassung. Die Nationalbank darf sich also von keiner Seite – weder vom Staat oder einem Wirtschaftszweig noch von einer Partei oder den Medien – beeinflussen lassen oder Weisungen annehmen. Geldpolitische Entscheide trifft einzig und allein das Direktorium.

Bedeutung der Unabhängigkeit

Doch warum ist diese Unabhängigkeit so wichtig? Eine unabhängige Zentralbank ist in schwierigen Zeiten besser in der Lage, unpopuläre Entscheide zu treffen. Unpopulär, weil sie kurzfristig vielleicht schmerzen, auf die mittlere und lange Frist jedoch für die Volkswirtschaft besser sind. Eine unabhängige Nationalbank hat daher viel bessere Chancen, die Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten und ihren Beitrag zu einer gesunden Entwicklung der Volkswirtschaft zu leisten. Diese Regel ist in den meisten Ländern anerkannt: Nur die Unabhängigkeit erlaubt es der Zentralbank, ihren Auftrag gut zu erfüllen.

Unabhängig, aber zur Rechenschaft verpflichtet

Schalten und walten, wie sie möchte, kann die Nationalbank jedoch nicht. Denn erstens bezieht sich ihre Unabhängigkeit nur auf die Erfüllung ihres öffentlichen Auftrags. Zweitens ist sie verpflichtet, gegenüber dem Parlament und der Öffentlichkeit regelmässig Rechenschaft darüber abzulegen, wie sie ihre Aufgaben erfüllt. Zudem tauscht sich die Nationalbank mit dem Bundesrat regelmässig über die aktuelle wirtschaftliche Entwicklung aus.

Hier ist die Nationalbank zu Hause


Die Nationalbank ist in Bern und Zürich zu Hause. Sie ist zudem mit ihren Delegierten in den Schweizer Regionen vertreten und hat seit 2013 auch eine Niederlassung in Singapur.
Hier ist die Nationalbank zu Hause
Bild: Keystone

Die Nationalbank hat seit ihrer Gründung vor mehr als 100 Jahren je einen Sitz in der Hauptstadt Bern und im Finanzzentrum Zürich. Sie ist in drei Departemente gegliedert. Das I. Departement ist für die Vorbereitung der geldpolitischen Entscheide verantwortlich. Das II. Departement ist für die Ausgabe der Banknoten sowie für die Finanzstabilität zuständig. Das III. Departement setzt die Geldpolitik an den Finanzmärkten um. Das I. und III. Departement befinden sich hauptsächlich in Zürich, das II. Departement ist mehrheitlich in Bern angesiedelt. Für die Geschäftsleitung der Nationalbank ist das Direktorium zuständig: Jedes der drei Mitglieder führt zusammen mit seinem Stellvertreter eines der drei Departemente.

Pulsmesser und Botschafter

Um den Informationsaustausch zwischen der Wirtschaft, der Öffentlichkeit und der Nationalbank zu fördern, unterhält die Nationalbank nebst ihren Sitzen in Bern und Zürich Vertretungen in Basel, Genf, St. Gallen, Lugano, Lausanne und Luzern. Acht Delegierte für regionale Wirtschaftskontakte sind für ihre jeweilige Region zuständig. Sie fungieren als eine Art Pulsmesser, die mit regelmässigen Umfragen Informationen zum Geschäftsgang der Unternehmen sammeln. Sie wirken aber auch als Botschafter der Nationalbank in ihrer Region und informieren über die Geld- und Währungspolitik der Nationalbank.

Was macht die Nationalbank in Singapur?

2013 eröffnete die Nationalbank eine Niederlassung in Singapur, die erste im Ausland. Weniger als zehn Mitarbeitende sind dort für die Nationalbank tätig. Den Schritt in die Ferne tat die Nationalbank vor allem, um ihre Anlagen in fernöstlichen Währungen noch besser betreuen zu können. Es ist ihr nun auch möglich, den Devisenmarkt rund um die Uhr zu überwachen.

Arbeiten bei der Nationalbank


Die meisten der knapp 900 Mitarbeitenden der Nationalbank sind an einem der beiden Sitze in Zürich und Bern tätig: Rund 650 Personen arbeiten in Zürich und über 200 in Bern. Der Rest ist auf die Vertretungen und die Niederlassung in Singapur verteilt. Eine typische Nationalbank-Ausbildung gibt es nicht. Die meisten Mitarbeitenden der Nationalbank sind Experten aus den Fachrichtungen Volkswirtschaft, Bank- und Finanzwesen, Informatik und Logistik. Daneben gibt es Vertreter vieler weiterer Berufsrichtungen – das Personal der Nationalbank ist äusserst bunt gemischt.

Die flüssigste Bank der Schweiz


Die Nationalbank kann dank des Notenmonopols nie zahlungsunfähig werden: Sie ist sozusagen an der Geldquelle, sie stellt das gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel her. So verfügt sie immer über die nötigen Mittel, um ihre Verbindlichkeiten in Franken zu begleichen. Ebenfalls dank des Notenmonopols weist die Nationalbank über die Zeit Gewinne aus. Ihr Auftrag ist aber nicht, so viel Gewinn als möglich zu erzielen, sondern die Preisstabilität zu sichern. Um diesen Auftrag auf lange Sicht erfüllen zu können, stärkt die Nationalbank kontinuierlich ihr Eigenkapital. Dafür legt sie – wie im Nationalbankgesetz festgelegt – stets einen Teil ihres Gewinns als Rückstellungen für die Währungsreserven zurück.

Die Nationalbank-Bilanz Ende 2018

Die Nationalbank-Bilanz 2018